Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-25-2013, 10:54 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Hi,

So i have the Honeywell wifi thermostat. i have forced air AC , and a Steam heat with radiators. I purchased this thermostat in the summer and set it up. I'm not using the C wire because i didn't have it, instead i used the G wire installation, where i used the G wire as my C wire and then in the AC unit's panel i move the G wire to the C terminal, i then used a jumper wire to connect terminal Y and G together. The only wires that come from the heater system are the white wire that I placed in the W-O/B port and a red wire which i placed in the R port in the thermostat.

So my problem is now it getting cold and i go and try my heating system and it doesn't work. what happens is the fan form the AC turns on (which i don't use during the winter) but my heat doesn't come on.

here is a picture to show what I did on the thermostat.





So is the Honeywell optimized for my type of home cooling and heating and if it is what am doing wrong?

Thank you!!

ALBRI98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 03:33 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,981
Rewards Points: 3,632
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Which model number thermostat is it.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 01:11 AM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,327
Rewards Points: 1,020
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Do you have it setup for electric or gas heat? I recommend running a new wire for C also.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 01:52 AM   #4
DIY Enthusiast
 
sublime2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,108
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


I recommend you call an Hvac tech!
Who replaces their Tstat and doesn't run it through heat and a/c cycles before you actually need them!?
sublime2 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sublime2 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-26-2013)
Old 10-26-2013, 06:14 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Which model number thermostat is it.
It's the RTH9580wf
ALBRI98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 06:36 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,981
Rewards Points: 3,632
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Not familiar with that one.

In installer set up. You did tell it 1 heat 1 cool.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 07:25 PM   #7
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Not familiar with that one.

In installer set up. You did tell it 1 heat 1 cool.
Expensive sucker. Costs as much as the Nest. It is basically the Prestige Beenthere. Now if the OP is not using it with the Internet connected capabilities, they threw away a lot of money, that they did not need to spend on that thermostat.

See http://www.thermostatforums.com/show...fi-thermostat& http://yourhome.honeywell.com/home/P...Thermostat.htm
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 07:51 PM   #8
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,327
Rewards Points: 1,020
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Expensive sucker. Costs as much as the Nest. It is basically the Prestige Beenthere. Now if the OP is not using it with the Internet connected capabilities, they threw away a lot of money, that they did not need to spend on that thermostat.

See http://www.thermostatforums.com/show...fi-thermostat& http://yourhome.honeywell.com/home/P...Thermostat.htm
Its a prestige that doesn't have near the capabilities of the professional version.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (10-26-2013)
Old 10-26-2013, 10:30 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,339
Rewards Points: 2,340
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
Its a prestige that doesn't have near the capabilities of the professional version.
You have that correct.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 11:52 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Not familiar with that one.

In installer set up. You did tell it 1 heat 1 cool.
Yes I did.
ALBRI98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 12:08 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,981
Rewards Points: 3,632
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Did you remove the R to RH jumper.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 12:22 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Did you remove the R to RH jumper.
Yes I did.
ALBRI98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 12:26 AM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,981
Rewards Points: 3,632
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Did you select equipment controls blower, in heat set up.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 09:11 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Did you select equipment controls blower, in heat set up.
I didnt get that setting when setting up.
ALBRI98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 09:20 AM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,981
Rewards Points: 3,632
Default

Problem with Honeywell wifi Smart thermostat


If your blower is coming on. With the way its wired, the A/C should of came on also. Did it.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (10-27-2013)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat C Wire Problem spollard888 HVAC 19 11-29-2013 05:09 PM
Honeywell WiFi Thermostat install help I26 HVAC 19 07-25-2013 10:53 PM
Thermostat problem - C wire? hoboat HVAC 2 06-11-2013 10:19 AM
A/C not working - thermostat problem? pro_DIYer HVAC 11 10-18-2012 02:38 PM
The Right Thermostat? (Honeywell says two diffrerent things) FourIsWaltz HVAC 3 10-10-2010 09:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.