Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-07-2011, 09:16 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

problem with concord 80 gas furnace


changed out honeywell gas valve and furnace worked great. Had a small gas leak and tightened up coupling. restarted furnace after rechecking for any additional gas leaks and it would not cycle through and was flashing 3 lights signalling pressure switch or auxillary limit stuck open. Looked at schematics and traced the violet wires down to the orange tubing checked tubing clear no water in it and could easily blow through it. Put tubing back on and again same signal. Any suggestions or helpful hints would be greatly appreciated! Thank You

djmanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 09:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 205
Default

problem with concord 80 gas furnace


Check the opening going into the pressure switch. Take a piece of t-stat wirn and stick in the opening where the tube connects to the pressure switch. Sometimes these will clog.

Patrick Eubanks is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Patrick Eubanks For This Useful Post:
djmanley (10-17-2011)
Old 10-07-2011, 12:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Default

problem with concord 80 gas furnace


will try that next and see what happens. If that doesn't work any other suggestions.
djmanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 01:08 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

problem with concord 80 gas furnace


Also check limit switch. Using multimeter in ohms you should have 0 ohms across the terminals
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2011, 09:24 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 29
Default

problem with concord 80 gas furnace


Was the gas valve an OEM replacement or an universal type? I've had a call back on another techs GV change out, he used a universal and didn't check his outlet gas pressure on GV. GV putting out too much heat and tripping high limit. Adjusted pressure and I was good to go. No problems since.
thestig3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:42 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Default

problem with concord 80 gas furnace


I know this is going to sound dumb but looking at the schematics I can't figure out which is the limit switch. Could you describe where it is located and what it looks like? This would be of great help! Thanks
djmanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 10:58 AM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

problem with concord 80 gas furnace




Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 11:00 AM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,543
Default

problem with concord 80 gas furnace


In the first pic there is only one high limit switch, usually there are more than one tied in series.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 10:05 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
Talking

problem with concord 80 gas furnace


I greatly appreciate all the wonderful suggestions that was offered by all. The one from Patrick Eubanks is the one that did the trick I had tried this previously but not with that small of a wire and with his idea was able to get in there far enough to push what ever was in the opening on past and it is working perfectly now! Just in the nick of time as cold weather is moving in tonight! Thanks again

djmanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Help with furnace blower problem Spydey HVAC 6 12-15-2010 08:18 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 06:42 PM
Old Silver-Line furnace problem avro1 HVAC 9 03-18-2010 12:01 AM
Strange Problem with My Furnace chenjijc HVAC 14 11-04-2009 09:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.