DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Problem with Carrier Weathermaker 9200

46K views 12 replies 5 participants last post by  Chipley 
#1 ·
Hi,

I'm a DIY chatroom n000b, as well as a HVAC n000b, but I am an engineer by trade, so I'm hoping to fix my problem without the aid of a service tech.

Yesterday, our furnace (Carrier Weathermaker 9200) stopped heating our house. I've been trying to diagnose and have been able to get a series of error codes, as well as being able to repeat the process.

When I shut off the power to the furnace, then power it back on, the blower blows for 90 seconds, while I receive the LED error code 12 (which stands for "Blower on After Power Up"). The The technical description of this error is "Blower runs for 90 seconds, if unit is powered up during a call for heat (R-W closed)."

Then the blower shuts off, and I get the LED continously on for 10 - 15 seconds while PBT/Control motor starts up. While the PBT is on, I receive the LED error code 34, which is "Ignition Providing Failure" - tech. description is "Control will try 3 more times before a lockout #14 occurs. If flame signal lost after trial for ignition period, blower will come on for 90 second recycle delay."

The furnace does indeed try to ignite 3 more times, as I can hear the ignition tripping. After the 3 tries, the control seems to shut down again, and I receive the LED error code 14, which is "Ignition Lockout - Control will reset after 3 hours."

If I shut off the power to the furnace and power back on, I can repeat this entire process without having to wait at all. However, I'm not sure what steps I need to take in order to service the furnace. I've tried disconnecting the thermostat from the "R" thermostat lead, I removed the control panel and replaced to reset the error codes. I've also tried sucking out the water trapped in the condenser by mouth to unclog whatever might be clogged; all to no avail.