Problem With 50+ Yr Old Oil Furnace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC


Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2013, 07:13 PM   #1
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10

problem with 50+ yr old oil furnace

Have a 1960 Preston oil furnace which is having problems.. it injects oil and ignites but won't stay lit.. I ran out of oil, so I put in 25l of pump diesel until my delivery showed up.. so it ran fine with pump diesel... Took about a min to start.. once I got the oil delivered is when problems started.. here is a video of what the unit is doing..

I have bled the lines, cleaned out the inline filter and pump filter, I have cleaned the injection tube (not sure what its called) but I replaced the brass leads on it that connect to the transformer as one had a crack half way thru at the 90 bend and replaced the nozzle. I have bled about 1.5gals so far.. I assume that would be enough to get any air out of lines. With the bleeder nut removed to pump starts and runs.. seems to have pressure as it shot 6+ft when I didn't have the plastic bleed tube lined up right.. I also cleaned and tested the CAD sensor and it reads 43 Ohms with led flash light pointed at it and increase as the light is pulled away all the way to infinate when dark as it should..

Any help and or idea would be greatly appreciated.. It will run like shown for about 5 mins until the overload on the motor trips from it getting hot..



spikie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2013, 09:48 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 32,956
Rewards Points: 7,278

Limit, burner motor or primary control.


beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 05:11 AM   #3
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500

is that the new pulse technology oil furnace
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 07:49 AM   #4
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17,158
Rewards Points: 6,652

Fifty years old, time to replace with a newer higher efficient unit.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 11:48 PM   #5
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 74
Rewards Points: 75

Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Fifty years old, time to replace with a newer higher efficient unit.
Same advise here.

Why put more money/headache on something this old.

Finding someone who is experience on this unit is either retired or dead.

Last edited by Mr.HVAC; 01-24-2013 at 11:52 PM.
Mr.HVAC is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Gas Furnace Hiccups hugocraft HVAC 2 12-22-2012 06:50 AM
Quote for new furnace. Reasonable? dengle HVAC 16 03-04-2012 07:01 AM
Help with furnace blower problem Spydey HVAC 6 12-15-2010 08:18 PM
Old Silver-Line furnace problem avro1 HVAC 9 03-18-2010 12:01 AM

Top of Page | View New Posts


Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1