Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2010, 06:35 PM   #61
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Share |
Default

PRO to PRO question.....


Nap, if you go in the field you will find that things differ from one city to another.

You can hang a ruined disconnect if you are servicing a resi ac. If you are replacing a new system as long as you do not run new wire or attempt to make the existing wire longer, you can as an HVAC tech hang a disconnect.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 06:37 PM   #62
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

PRO to PRO question.....


I use 60a pull out type disconnect at the a/c most of the time. I sometimes use HACR breaker that the unit calls for.

Nap,,,I'm from al
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 06:43 PM   #63
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

PRO to PRO question.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by HVAC_NW View Post
Saying the bolded part makes you look rather clueless. We have either single phase or three phase. Two phase are very very rare, so it doesn't even warrant being mentioned.
Read this and you will understand what polyphase is
A polyphase system is a means of distributing alternating current electrical power. Polyphase systems have three or more energized electrical conductors carrying alternating currents with a definite time offset between the voltage waves in each conductor. Polyphase systems are particularly useful for transmitting power to electric motors. The most common example is the three-phase .
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 07:02 PM   #64
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

PRO to PRO question.....


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post
by hanging a new disco, are you saying on an already installed circuit such as an R&R situation?


In general, I can find nothing in the state laws that would allow you to do any electrical work. Do you have something that allows the work you claim here?

not trying to argue about it. Sincerely looking for a solid answer. Things like this have often been a point of contention so some sort of authoritative cite would help.
Thanks for asking. Yes the local authority has the say so. Local communities can alter the requirments to suit local needs.

The work is inspected by the mechanical guy if he thinks the disco does not meet requirment he turns it over to the electrical inspector. He'll either have the tech correct the issues or require a sparky to runa new line.

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.