Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-27-2012, 08:21 PM   #1
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

pro to pro question


I am considering buying a refrig analyzer. Pretty much am going for the Testo 500 series or the Fieldpiece.

What are you other pros using?

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:16 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


May I ask why are you buying one?

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:30 PM   #3
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


Why don't you have a refer analyzer?

Sorry, that sounded harsh.

What I mean is that the analyzer incorporates several different test instrument into one body. That is why I am considering one.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


I bought the fieldpiece sman3 when it first came out.First set the micron gauge didn't work right out of the box, johnstones replaced the set. Then the plastic on the clamps broke and jonhstones replaced them on the spot. Then the plastic housing developed a small crack and fieldpiece replaced the set. Service has been outstanding when there was a problem but I should have held off a couple years for the kinks to get worked out.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:39 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


Not harsh at just a fair question.

I work some commerical but mostly residential. 15 yrs

If I have a problem where it's charge related and I recover some it just goes into the junk tank. If I add I add the listed freon for the appliance. I have never had a time where I felt the need for one.

If I feel that someone or I think the wrong freon has been added I recover it all and start all over with new.

I'm sure there is a place and time for one but I can't ever think of a time where I said I need one.

Help me out by telling me what you are needing one for. You just might teach an ol dog a new trick. Kind of like a compressor analyzer. I bought one and used it once. So I now look at pricy items and ask myself is this a wise investment.

Hope that helps.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Plumber101 For This Useful Post:
plummen (01-28-2012)
Old 01-27-2012, 09:46 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


I don't think we are thinking about the same thing. Are you talking about a digital manifold gauges.

or

refrig analyzer to test the freon in the system for the type refrig
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:49 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


Testo 500 series and fieldpiece are digital manifolds.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 09:58 PM   #8
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


depends who you ask. Some guys call them digital meters, some call them analyzer cause the check superheat sub cooling and inches of vacuum.

You got everything in one instrument. I know it would save me time cause I have to use three or four separate instruments on an ac check/clean.

right now clean up is a bear and my CPS four station digital hygrometer won't work on the the four temp stations.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 10:04 PM   #9
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


Since I'm thinking straight now I think that would pretty cool but I like the digital psychrometer and clamp on temp probe and calculating on my own. With the psychrometer I can take it inside to measure temps and humidity. Kind of old fashion but thats ok. Good luck with it if you decide to go for it.
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2012, 11:30 PM   #10
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


The Testo looks like a more rugged product.
I use the old Digimon with the proprietary temperature port.
The newer ones now have the k type connector but the day mine kicks the bucket I will get the Testo.

I didn't realize that you were talking about digital manifold gauges either.
I see that Testo calls theirs an analyzer.

Last edited by Houston204; 01-28-2012 at 01:26 AM. Reason: spelling
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 01:15 AM   #11
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,901
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
depends who you ask. Some guys call them digital meters, some call them analyzer cause the check superheat sub cooling and inches of vacuum.

You got everything in one instrument. I know it would save me time cause I have to use three or four separate instruments on an ac check/clean.

right now clean up is a bear and my CPS four station digital hygrometer won't work on the the four temp stations.
I thought you were talking about one of those fancy testers for checking type of freon also!
Im an old dinosaur also,still use my good ol gauges and a clamp on thermometer to service things
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 04:49 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,064
Rewards Points: 20
Default

pro to pro question


I use the Fieldpiece SMAN3. Its nice to have the ability to cycle through SH, SC, sat temps, and back to actual line temp, with just a push of the button.

The vacuum alarm feature is also very nice to have. Set teh low to 400, and then continue to work on other things without having to look at it every 10 to 15 minutes. Once at 400, set it to high alarm, and you can continue to work on other things, and know if your vacuum is holding without walking out to look every so often.

Haven't gotten 135 hours out of a set of batteries yet though.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 07:55 AM   #13
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
I use the Fieldpiece SMAN3. Its nice to have the ability to cycle through SH, SC, sat temps, and back to actual line temp, with just a push of the button.

The vacuum alarm feature is also very nice to have. Set teh low to 400, and then continue to work on other things without having to look at it every 10 to 15 minutes. Once at 400, set it to high alarm, and you can continue to work on other things, and know if your vacuum is holding without walking out to look every so often.

Haven't gotten 135 hours out of a set of batteries yet though.
I figured the SMAN3 would eat batteries. Guess I was right.

Been if you don't mind my asking, what did it set you back.

Went to a local wholesaler, but since I don't do a lot of volume with them, I don't think they could give me a better price.

Also I am hearing horror stories about the 550 series Testo...but something makes me think all the guys making the noise might just be "Squeaking Wheels".

Appreciate some in put on that if someone could be so kind.

Last edited by hvac5646; 01-28-2012 at 08:03 AM.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:12 AM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,064
Rewards Points: 20
Default

pro to pro question


320 as I recall. Got a special deal on it.

Plan on going through 3 to 4 sets of batteries(it takes 6).
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2012, 09:44 AM   #15
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pro to pro question


think I'll rig a dc convrter/ step down xfmr with an extension cord.

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DRIcore question trailblazer1229 Flooring 0 02-24-2010 09:25 AM
3 Phase meter socket question a320200 Electrical 4 12-11-2009 12:45 AM
An unasked question is the only dumb question jackie treehorn Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 09-20-2009 08:24 PM
A question about water preassure. reasonforseason Plumbing 5 04-14-2009 04:36 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.