Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-22-2008, 04:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Share |
Question

Prevent Thermostat from Going Too High


Due to a complicated situation I won't go into, I would like to prevent the heat from going above 68 degrees in our house.

I know this probably isn't possible without a lock box, but I was wondering if I could change the thermometer to read a higher temperature by insulating it more? I don't need the heat to be on. I live in Austin, and trust me, it's not cold.

Anyway to "doctor" the temperature reading? Thanks.

mollybloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 04:53 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Prevent Thermostat from Going Too High


You are better getting a programmable thermostat, and "locking" it so no one else can tamper with the settings. Some of the newer electronic models have this feature, and you can only "unlock" it with the proper input code.

kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 05:38 PM   #3
Member
 
tk03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 167
Default

Prevent Thermostat from Going Too High


or install an accustat which does not let you adjust temperatures. You install a temperature device for the temperature you want. No dials.
tk03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 05:41 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 2
Default

Prevent Thermostat from Going Too High


Thank you! That's helpful advice. What, exactly, is an accustat? Is it a new thermostat or is it something I install to my current thermo control box? And if it's the latter, how do I install it?
mollybloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 06:34 PM   #5
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

Prevent Thermostat from Going Too High


I would get a honeywell visonpro t-stat, you can set the stat as you like then go into the internal program and lock it out. http://yourhome.honeywell.com/Consum...hermostats.htm

Last edited by HvacWiz; 11-22-2008 at 06:37 PM.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-22-2008, 08:03 PM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,361
Default

Prevent Thermostat from Going Too High


Quote:
Originally Posted by mollybloom View Post
Thank you! That's helpful advice. What, exactly, is an accustat? Is it a new thermostat or is it something I install to my current thermo control box? And if it's the latter, how do I install it?
Accustat is probably the best choice for your application, since it is preset with a single value, and cannot be adjusted. You pick the temperature value you want when initially ordering the unit, and that is it.

You would only have the option to switch the system on or off, without any other adjustments being available.

Best used for applications where thermostat tampering can be a problem, or in public buildings, etc.

It would replace any existing thermostat you now are using.
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 12:32 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Moyock, NC
Posts: 37
Default

Prevent Thermostat from Going Too High


Quote:
Originally Posted by mollybloom View Post
Thank you! That's helpful advice. What, exactly, is an accustat? Is it a new thermostat or is it something I install to my current thermo control box? And if it's the latter, how do I install it?
Check this website, http://www.longviewweb.com/psgaccustat.html#s40
pbservano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2008, 05:28 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,489
Default

Prevent Thermostat from Going Too High


Use a Honeywell Focus, or Vision pro stat.
You can not only lock teh max heat setting. But can also set it to display a temp higher then it actually is.

Accustats are nice. But, if the sensor is removed. It will run your heat no matter what the inside temp is.
Accustat does make a temp limiter that can be installed in teh return duct of a hot air system. That isn't seen by occupants. So they don't know its there.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
thermostat help


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat VS Ceiling fan MrShadetree0222 HVAC 38 01-23-2010 03:29 AM
High Rise Condo Thermostat Change omanalansan HVAC 8 10-24-2008 02:57 PM
Wiring help - Honeywell Thermostat w/ Carrier Heat Pump Tom Williams HVAC 7 09-14-2008 07:40 AM
Oil Furnace - Swapping out to Programmable Thermostat slappy HVAC 2 12-05-2007 03:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.