Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 02:47 PM   #31
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


might of been stuck OPEN...remove the 2 wires to the PS and set your ohm meter up to read open/closed start the IDM go CCW on that adjuster screw on the diaphram so the meter reads open with the IDM running go CW slowly till the meter closes(switch is closed)slight tweek to CW and it is set.that pressure switch has to be open before a call for heat and close when the IDM starts to prove there is air intro'd into the burner section so the rest of the show can go....any break in that closed contact during a heating cycle will shut the burner off(even if the IDM is running)and restart 3X then... latch out the furnace requiring a repower on the service toggle on the furnace....

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 04:37 PM   #32
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,042
Rewards Points: 3,748
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cheloco51 View Post
So, thanks to all of you I was able to test/clean/check things out. My error code said that the switch was stuck open and when I sucked on the tube(or let the vacuum take over) everything fired up and worked fine. But after doing everything suggested it still wouldn't run on its own.
So bad pressure switch. When I took it off I noticed a screw in the middle of it. So I popped it off to find that it was holding a spring against the switch diaphragm. So I loosened it and put it back on and got the error code that the switch was stuck closed..hmm. I then tightened/loosened it until I got no error code and everything fired up/shut off properly.

So I guess that means that my pressure switch is pretty close to kicking the bucket. Just wanted to share my experience/fix since you have saved me a service call and taught me a ton.

Mahalo!
It has already kicked the bucket. Get a new one now. Cause you don't have a switch that will open when its suppose to, to protect teh furnace and you from harm.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:35 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
It has already kicked the bucket. Get a new one now. Cause you don't have a switch that will open when its suppose to, to protect teh furnace and you from harm.
Yeah, I was planning on it since I didn't know how long this would last and it is a low cost fix. So what creates the pressure that opens/closes the switch? And could that be causing the issue?
Cheloco51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:25 AM   #34
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,042
Rewards Points: 3,748
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


The inducer creates the pressure. It can be running slow. A 50 to 100 RPM drop is hard to see by eye or even hear.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 09:59 PM   #35
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


From what I've read the chances of it actually being the pressure switch are slim. Is that correct?

Also, would I be able to tell if the inducer wasn't creating enough pressure to trigger the switch properly without any equipment?
Cheloco51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 03:28 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


I have a york diamon 90 and the pressure switch keeps getting stuck open. By blowing in the tube, it will reset the switch. Took combustion blower off of furnace, and ALOT of water came out, which fixed the problem for about two days. Did this again, and again it lasted for two days. What would be the reason water keeps filling up in there. I am completely stuck at the moment, and any advice would be appreciated. Thank you!
cpierce811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2012, 05:00 PM   #37
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,042
Rewards Points: 3,748
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


Could be a problem with the gas valve. Need to check the manifold pressure.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 08:44 AM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


How would I do that?
cpierce811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 08:47 AM   #39
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,042
Rewards Points: 3,748
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


Need a manometer.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 02:59 PM   #40
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


Is there anything else that could be causing this to happen?
cpierce811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2012, 07:32 PM   #41
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,042
Rewards Points: 3,748
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


Obstruction in the flue/vent pipe, obstruction/dirty secondary heat exchanger, slow running inducer.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 11:53 PM   #42
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


The inducer motor seems to be running fine, no different than it ever has, how could I tell if the secondary heat exchanger was dirty or obstructed, and how would it be fixed?
cpierce811 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 04:51 AM   #43
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,042
Rewards Points: 3,748
Default

Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @


Remove inducer and inspect it. Often it has to be replaced. Sometimes they can be cleaned.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3 led, inducer, no heat, pressure


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pressure switch or control board? zerofill HVAC 11 02-01-2008 05:29 AM
Pressure switch hateheater HVAC 2 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Bad pressure switch? gshock HVAC 3 11-13-2007 08:15 PM
Pressure Switch Problem? jamespappin HVAC 1 10-28-2007 03:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.