Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-24-2009, 08:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure switch stuck


Hello,

I have the Bryant Plus 90i and there is a code that just came up. It is code 23 (pressure switch did not open) It is telling us to check for obstructed pressure tubing - pressure switch stuck closed. The house is staying around 59 degress and with young children it n\makes me a little worried. Before I call someone to come out I wanted to see what I can find out with your site.

Thank you

SStein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 08:29 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
wirenut1110's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Chester, VA.
Posts: 1,049
Rewards Points: 500
Send a message via AIM to wirenut1110
Default

Pressure switch stuck


Turn power off. Usually does this when you remove the door. Pull the tubing off of your pressure switches (one at a time )and blow through them. Could've just got some trash in it.

wirenut1110 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 08:31 AM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,627
Rewards Points: 2,392
Default

Pressure switch stuck


In case the above post does not work out. It may be a faulty pressure switch or another bad issue. I have worked on lots of those units. Had a few where the port behind the ventor fan on the collector box got plugged with sulphur/smutz. Impossible for a DIY to fix as the entire ventor fan needs to be removed to get at it. I would call a Carrier/Bryant tech now B4 your house loses more heat. I would also go to HDepot and get a couple cheap $20 fan heaters for the kids rooms in case it takes a while for a tech to come out.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2009, 03:26 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure switch stuck


I agree also to try and get some temporaryheat, uplug the heater and that will reset the board. While unplugged tap on the pressure switch a few times. If it is stuck this will loosen it and may work til a tech can get out there. The pressure switch is a round black or metal part usually at the top left of the heater.
A/C Williams is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Pressure switch stuck open? 2 areas im looking @ 1001miles HVAC 42 12-03-2012 03:51 AM
New Pressure Switch -- low water pressure chach Plumbing 4 01-18-2009 09:50 PM
Bad pressure switch? gshock HVAC 3 11-13-2007 07:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.