Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 12:10 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
The inducer should come on first then the pressure switch closes. No power to the inducer would be a bad control board. Yes power but the inducer doesn't run equals new inducer assembly or a bird stuck in the wheel.
What should the voltage be at the inducer wheel?

noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:16 PM   #17
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


120v

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2012, 12:20 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
120v

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum

So I should see 120v at the inducer wheel when the Tstat clicks the heat on regardless of how the pressure switch is functioning?
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 05:17 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


So, against my better judgement, I bought a pressure switch and as said here, the replacement switch did not fix the issue.

So here is the sequence of events so far:
1. I paid an AC repairman to come out and diagnose the issue.
2. He diagnosed the issue as a 'faulty pressure switch'. (faulty diagnosis)
3. The cost to replace the pressure switch was said to be $550. (I found out through my own research that this part costs 21 dollars)
4. I bought pressure switch and replaced it.


I am going back over to my property tomorrow to do some more evaluation. Since this same AC repairman replaced the control board over the summer, i'm really hoping it's as simple as perhaps he didn't screw in the heat wire into the control board. Or it's loose. Which wire will likely be the heat on the control board and which terminal should this wire be on in the control board?


Does this sound like a good plan?-----

1. Check the control board and make sure all wires are secure and in the right terminals.
2. Check power at the inducer wheel when the Tstat clicks on heat. It should show 120v when it clicks on.
3. Check power at the pressure switch to be 24v.

Anything else?

Thanks again.....
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 08:11 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,060
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Normally its a white wire, and it should be on the W terminal.
Yes, 120 volts to the inducer.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 07:03 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Update:

I put the black probe in the connector of the black wire and put the red probe in the connector of the white wire. Then reversed it just in case. I did not see any voltage show up on the meter. I don't know if I used the meter correctly. I also noticed the blower fan was running constantly, didn't matter if the Tstat was off or on. Looks suspicious that the red wire from the blower fan is on the spare terminal. Also, when i ran the component test, the inducer motor never turned on and i heard a clicking noise coming from the board while the test was running, right before the ignitor lit. Please advise.







noone is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to noone For This Useful Post:
Technow (12-03-2012)
Old 12-03-2012, 08:07 PM   #22
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,060
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Could be the relay for the inducer on the board is bad.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 08:09 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Is the relay part of the board or is it separate? They replaced the control board back in May. I wasn't there to watch the repair.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:42 PM   #24
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


the same way you connected to test for 120v ( METER IN VAC) . Turn off the furnace, change the meter to ohms and check the inducer continuity....should be close to 0 ohms. Also, check if there is 120v at the control board connector where the inducer motor wires are connected.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 09:59 PM   #25
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
the same way you connected to test for 120v ( METER IN VAC) . Turn off the furnace, change the meter to ohms and check the inducer continuity....should be close to 0 ohms. Also, check if there is 120v at the control board connector where the inducer motor wires are connected.
I tested with the DC setting not the AC setting earlier. Was that right? Also, when I pulled the wires off the inducer motor I don't know if I put them back on right. How do I know which terminal the black wire goes on and which terminal the white wire went on?

Also, does the wiring on the board look correct, particularly how the blower fan is hooked up? Why does the blower fan continually run even if the thermostat is set to OFF? The blower never turns off.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:14 PM   #26
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


what was the original problem? what have you done so far?
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2012, 10:41 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
what was the original problem? what have you done so far?
I had the tenant turn on the heat at the thermostat and then i unplugged the black and white wires from the inducer motor and then tested to see if power was was going through the wires on the DC setting on the meter as shown in the pic above.

I also ran the component test on the board by shorting the comm24 to the test terminal. That's when I heard the clicking noise coming from the board. The board was replaced over the summer.

At this point, I no longer trust the company that replaced the board after this round of repairs when they tried to charge me $550 dollars to change out a pressure switch. I don't know if they sabatoged something on the board or wired something funny intentionally to not work, I just don't know at this point.

If you know of any honest ac repairmen in Jacksonville FL, please PM me.

Last edited by noone; 12-03-2012 at 10:44 PM.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 04:16 AM   #28
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,060
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


It should have been set on AC, not DC.

The relay is part of the board.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 06:25 AM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 501
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
It should have been set on AC, not DC.

The relay is part of the board.
Why does the blower run constantly, even when the thermostat is off? It never turns off. There is always air moving out of the vents in the house. This doesn't sound normal.
noone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 03:28 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,060
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Pressure switch replacement on Carrier 58STA110-22


Could be an open high limit.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange pressure switch problem jones814 HVAC 24 01-16-2012 10:24 AM
Carrier Bryant plus 355MAV, Furnace - pressure switch calibration fault mnpugguy HVAC 1 10-21-2011 06:42 PM
confused on switch replacement fullpint Electrical 6 07-11-2011 08:39 AM
Weatherking pressure switch stuck closed error code bobnorman76 HVAC 0 12-18-2010 09:29 AM
fan/light switch buzzing mjlocat Electrical 4 05-23-2010 02:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.