Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-08-2010, 03:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Pressure switch or other?


I have a Bryant 90 Plus MAV 350 condensing gas furnace connected to an LP source. Its 8 years old and been nothing but trouble. First was a cracked secondary heat exchanger and away we go. So in any event this year we turn on the furnace and it works fine for about 3 weeks, then we wake one morning to a very cold house. The furnace will not run. Not even the draft inducer was coming on. So first things first, I check the code and it indicates a pressure switch issue. I then check and clean all drainage hoses which are not blocked that I can see. Interestingly when I pulled off one of the 1/4 hoses that goes to the condensate pan area it starts right up. It ran two maybe three heating cycles, then the same scenario. Each time, just unplugging that one hose which runs to the condensate pan area causes the furnace inducer motor to run then immediately plugging that hose back in to the pressure switch and everything functions fine for another 1-3 cycles, then again same scenario. I kept leaning toward a blockage but can't find one and just disconnecting that one hose starts everything all over again. Any ideas? I thought about the switch, but why would unplugging the hose each time cause the switch to function again. Thanks for some advice. This is one of two 1/4 hoses going to the pressure switch. One seems to go to the combustion chamber box and the gas switch and the other 1/4 hose, the one of interest goes to the area at the bottom of the condensate tray.


Last edited by rickr01; 11-08-2010 at 03:11 PM.
rickr01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2010, 05:28 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,037
Default

Pressure switch or other?


Post some pics of the furnace with both doors off and point to the hose you are removing. Pretty sure it goes to the collector box which is joined to the secondary heat ex. That is a differential press switch and removing the hose releases some pressure allowing it to close. Propane can burn dirty if not setup properly and foul up the secondary heat ex or it may be cracked again. The condensate trap may need to be removed and flushed with hot water and bleach.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 11-08-2010 at 05:33 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
rickr01 (11-09-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil GNE075B12 Water in teh tube between combustion blower and pressure switch Quin HVAC 51 01-04-2013 11:46 AM
Trane XR90 Pressure Switch Error kenk HVAC 30 10-10-2012 03:24 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM
pressure switch on pump radams3141 Plumbing 2 04-30-2008 07:14 PM
Pressure Switch Problem? jamespappin HVAC 1 10-28-2007 02:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.