Pressure Switch Failed To Close - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2011, 08:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


I have a York furnace. House has been getting colder and took off door, turned of automatic starter, waited the 5 minutes and then turned back on. Fan motor kicks on but no fire.

There is a flashing red light that flashes 3 times which cooresponds to "Pressure switch failed to close"; what does this mean and how is it fixed?

thanks in advance

Advertisement

bigdogtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:37 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


The small motor that is connected to the flue pipe has a rubber hose connected to the motor assembly. Remove the hose and ensure nothing is in the port on the motor assembly. it there is, try to remove it with a paper clip or small drill bit (with the power turned off). Does that motor run?

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 08:41 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
The small motor that is connected to the flue pipe has a rubber hose connected to the motor assembly. Remove the hose and ensure nothing is in the port on the motor assembly. it there is, try to remove it with a paper clip or small drill bit (with the power turned off). Does that motor run?
Yes that motor kicks on when I flip the switch. I will go check the rubber hose.
bigdogtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:05 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


Rubber hose was clean and ran a pipe cleaner through it. Reattached and turned on gas; turned on electric. Flue fan kicked on, but still get the flashing red light for failing to close.
bigdogtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:07 PM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


not, clean the hose, but the port on the motor that the hose connects to.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to hvactech126 For This Useful Post:
sM319 (04-22-2011)
Old 03-07-2011, 09:09 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


when you see the smaller fan motor running that is the stat calling in the heat the switch with the tube going to the fan is to proof of Induced Draft ..the switch closes and then the pilot,burner,supply fan should follow.for any reason the tube the switch or ID itself fail the burner will shut down..remove the tube from the fan and lightly blow into it you will hear a click could be moisture or even a bug blocking it...always check the outside tubing after heavy snow to see its clear good habit to get into...
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to biggles For This Useful Post:
sM319 (04-22-2011)
Old 03-07-2011, 09:33 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
when you see the smaller fan motor running that is the stat calling in the heat the switch with the tube going to the fan is to proof of Induced Draft ..the switch closes and then the pilot,burner,supply fan should follow.for any reason the tube the switch or ID itself fail the burner will shut down..remove the tube from the fan and lightly blow into it you will hear a click could be moisture or even a bug blocking it...always check the outside tubing after heavy snow to see its clear good habit to get into...
This is inside the house,,,,no snow, at least not much here in Texas
bigdogtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 09:40 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
not, clean the hose, but the port on the motor that the hose connects to.
Blew into both ends. Ran pipe cleaner into port on motor. It went in the length of the port. Should it have gone in farther?
bigdogtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 11:13 PM   #9
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


look in the port. also check for obstructions in the flue.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2011, 11:24 PM   #10
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,559
Rewards Points: 634
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


Just a few more thoughts.
Attach one end of the hose to the pressure switch and blow very gently into it.( Too hard and you'll wreck the switch) you should hear it click on & off. If you can't hear it doing that then try a paper clip to see if any debris is stuck in the port entry of the pressure switch.
Bear in mind that anything that limits the air flow through the burner and venting system can also cause that code. Restricted venting, reduced vent motor-turbine output, improperly sized venting, or poor electrical connections to the pressure switch, or even a faulty mother board.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
sM319 (04-22-2011)
Old 03-08-2011, 04:54 AM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,573
Rewards Points: 4,784
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


Check for obstructions in flue pipe. Could also be a bad switch.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
sM319 (04-22-2011)
Old 03-08-2011, 09:08 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


Got it fixed. Pushed a little harder in the neck and got through the obstruction.

THANK YOU for your help!!!
bigdogtx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 12:55 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pressure Switch Failed to close


Thanks !! Worked for me also! Saved me about $100.00 for a service call.
Really appreciate the help/advice from everyone.

Advertisement

sM319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pressure switch error phoneman77 HVAC 5 11-15-2010 06:45 PM
Carrier pressure switch test spider18 HVAC 2 11-03-2009 05:51 AM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 07:14 PM
Could a failed condensor fan raise pressure/trip high pressure limit switch? (Rheem) hennyh HVAC 6 07-30-2009 03:04 PM
Pressure Switch Problem? jamespappin HVAC 1 10-28-2007 03:32 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts