Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-14-2009, 10:54 AM   #1
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Powervent Size / Distance


Hi,

I'd really like to change where my PVC power vent exits the house for my High Effic,80,000 BTU Goodman furnace.

However, I don't know what size pipe needs to be used for the distance I want to run, and how you compensate for elbows and such. I just need a chart that tells me this info and I can calculate out my distance and loss from elbows / turns.

I get the call your dealer type of thing from Goodman, so they are no real help. I can't find a chart or guide like this online. I know I've worked with charts like this in the past for other plumbing applications, things like for a sump pump.

Thanks

Jamie

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 11:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Powervent Size / Distance


Start by getting the installation manual for your furnace. It should state what restrictions you must follow such as size, lengths, number of elbows, TEL, etc.

dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2009, 07:49 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,816
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Powervent Size / Distance


Post the model and serial # here. We have some Goodman guys here who may have a link to their manuals,
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 10:20 AM   #4
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Powervent Size / Distance


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Post the model and serial # here. We have some Goodman guys here who may have a link to their manuals,
Hello

Here is the model CAPF3642C6AA

Thanks
Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 10:34 AM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,816
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Powervent Size / Distance


Are you sure of that model #. Most of the high eff Goodmans I have seen are GMNT or something similar.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 10:36 AM   #6
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Powervent Size / Distance


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Are you sure of that model #. Most of the high eff Goodmans I have seen are GMNT or something similar.

Sorry. I bet that is the coil. I guess im not awake yet. I will go look again and respond shortly, Thanks Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 10:44 AM   #7
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Powervent Size / Distance


Ahh had to unscrew the cover...

GMV950704CXBA

Output 66,900. Thought it was a 80,000.

Thanks very much

Jamie
__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 11:31 AM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,816
Rewards Points: 270
Default

Powervent Size / Distance


Voila:http://www.acdirect.com/xcart/images...ts/IO-280D.pdf

page 17. you have a 70,000 BTU model
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 01:37 AM   #9
DIY'er
 
jamiedolan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,032
Rewards Points: 1,000
Blog Entries: 2
Default

Powervent Size / Distance


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Voila:http://www.acdirect.com/xcart/images...ts/IO-280D.pdf

page 17. you have a 70,000 BTU model
Thank You very much. That's exactly what I need.

Thanks again,
Jamie

__________________
Jamie Dolan - Neenah, WI
Jamie Dolan Paw Dogs
Need Help Uploading Photos? Click here.
jamiedolan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Size of whole house fan needed Doug Crf General DIY Discussions 20 02-26-2011 12:29 AM
pre-hung door, 32x80 is that door size or total size? RyanD Building & Construction 3 06-28-2009 11:33 PM
duct work size justmefixin HVAC 2 09-20-2008 07:59 PM
Wire size and Breaker size for remodel ?? Skydmark1 Electrical 12 12-15-2007 06:00 PM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 10:29 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.