Power Vent - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-27-2011, 09:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

power vent


I have two gas furnaces side by side.- for main floor and basement. The flue pipes for each are 4inches each going into 6 inch double wall flue pipes that goes to a power vent and then to side wall. The power vent pie going to out side is 4 inch. This installation has been working without problem for over 5 years.
My question is - is it required to change 4 inch power vent to 6 inch and will that meet code ? Or is it required to have separate 4 inch power vent for each furnace ?

Advertisement

d.c.patel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2011, 10:02 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,526
Rewards Points: 4,690
Default

power vent


The power vent has to be rated for the total BTU of both furnaces. Plus, it needs to have an interlock control so that neither furnace can run if it fails.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ridge Vent and Power Vent? etern33 Roofing/Siding 7 06-06-2011 08:06 AM
Ridge vent and power vent neikorott Roofing/Siding 1 09-09-2010 06:57 AM
Low-Slope Ventilation - Cobra Fascia Vent and Cor-a-Vent Roof-2-Wall vent atulc Roofing/Siding 7 08-22-2008 11:40 PM
Plumbing Vent size recommendations rlhed Plumbing 4 07-31-2008 01:01 AM
Noise from boiler power vent den HVAC 2 03-03-2007 08:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts