Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 04:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ancaster Ontario
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Hi

I have the first of many questions that I will most likely asking on this fourm. Newbie installing a humidifier. I will be taking it real slow...just doing a bit a day, and have it inspected before I turn anything on.

The only outlet I have in the furnace area is the outlet for the hot water heater blower motor. I believe this is called power vented.

Can I also plug the aprilaire 700 into this? Or should this 700 fan have its own outlet? I would have to extend the humidifier cord thou.

Or can this be hard wired into the furnace?

Thanks Chris.

Chris 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 04:37 PM   #2
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,047
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Hi Chris,

I have an Aprilaire 700... had it for about 6 years and it has worked great. It really isn't a big electric load so you can plug it into any available receptacle, including the one shared by your water heater vent motor.

__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ancaster Ontario
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Thanks very much raylo32.
Chris 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,436
Rewards Points: 2,186
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chris 43 View Post
Thanks very much raylo32.
chris you can hard wire this into furnace before on/off switch..NOT into blower circuit....ben sr
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 07:52 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ancaster Ontario
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Hi Ben

Will wiring the humidifier this way.... keep power to the fan all the time?

I have a picture to where I think your saying to wire it to.

Just use the existing wire nuts that are in that junction box to tie everything together? plus the ground wire.

Thanks
Chris

Chris 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:00 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


sounds good
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 07:04 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ancaster Ontario
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


1. What about the temps inside that area of the furnace...will the power cord wires that came with the Aprilaire 700 be able to withstand the heat? The wires are rated for 105c

2. Are there special wires that have a higher temp rating that I may need?

3. Also, the draw of power from the Aprilaire fan would not overload that circuit?

Thanks very much guys
Chris
Chris 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 03:24 PM   #8
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,047
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Aprilaire 700 fan has a itty bitty motor. It will not overload the furnace circuit. The wires should enter the furnace jbox directly through a grommet on the side of the case so they do not run through the furnace. That jbox really shouldn't get hot enough to be an issue. The other solution that I did for mine was to tap a nearby lighting circuit and add a new receptacle near the water heater and humidifier. Plug em both in there, nice and neat.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to raylo32 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-07-2012)
Old 10-07-2012, 08:43 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ancaster Ontario
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


I will wire it into the box. Great thanks again.



Chris.
Chris 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Chris 43 For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-07-2012)
Old 10-08-2012, 03:59 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ancaster Ontario
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Ok, I changed my mind...just moved the receptacle from the power vented hot water tank over a few feet and both the Humidifier and the hot water tank blower fit...power to the Humidifier fan done!

FYI Furnace is a Luxaire...about 7 years old.

Next... The two brown wires coming from the bottom of the humidifier that power the solenoid.

I understand that they need 24v . I have a empty HUM and EAC. Also two empty neutrals...but I'm guessing that its not going to hook up to any one of these, not sure thou....here's a pic of my board.



IF not.....I have the 24v transformer that came with it....Should this be mounted inside the furnace near the junction box and then the black/white wires from the transformer feed into the junction box for power, or should this transformer be outside the furnace to save it from heat....here's a pic





What about the gauge of wire...18 gauge is coming from the solenoid valve...is that what I should use to run it from the water valve and back to the humidifier control via the transformer?


I know alot of questions lol...I really dont know much about this stuff, and like learning....and saving money.


Thanks again for your time.
Chris
Chris 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:30 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


18 gauge stat wire is fine. Use the transformer that came with the humidifier. That HUM terminal should be a 120 volt terminal. And that is where you can get power for the humidifier, it will only be energized when the furnace is running for heat.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:51 PM   #12
Member
 
raylo32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Maryland (DC 'burbs)
Posts: 1,047
Rewards Points: 506
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


My furnace doesn't have a HUM terminal so my hookup won't help you. Listen to the guys here, tho, and you'll get through it OK. Also look at the manual. It has great details on the various hookup methods.

One other question for when you get a little further along... which hunidistat are you using, the simple one or the digital one? The digital one requires a 24 v power source and gets a little more complicated. The simple unpowered one works fine, but the digital one has a cool blue glow and has a digital humidity setting and readout.
__________________
Live long and prosper.
raylo32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 05:58 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ancaster Ontario
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
18 gauge stat wire is fine. Use the transformer that came with the humidifier. That HUM terminal should be a 120 volt terminal. And that is where you can get power for the humidifier, it will only be energized when the furnace is running for heat.
Hi..

I have the humidifier fan already powered from a external outlet.

Just checked the HUM its 120 v.

So I'm going to connect the transformer to the HUM terminal...the transformer has a black/white wires...where would the other one go?

I'm reading the wire diagram that came with the unit, but it don't tell me where to power that transformer.

raylo....of course I have the more difficult one lol...digital.


Thanks guys
Chris

Last edited by Chris 43; 10-08-2012 at 06:01 PM.
Chris 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 06:52 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,538
Rewards Points: 2,756
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Black to Hum terminal, white to neutral connection.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 08:28 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Ancaster Ontario
Posts: 17
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Power Aprilaire 700


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Black to Hum terminal, white to neutral connection.
Ok got it now, thanks...still would like to know if the transformer should on the outside of the furnace...will it be to hot in there for it?

For my information...what is that EAC terminal beside the HUM?


Thanks guys for all your time.
Chris

Chris 43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power strip hack salex Electrical 3 01-31-2012 06:10 AM
Solar at the cottage? Tito1800 Home Theater 2 01-18-2012 02:30 PM
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM
Recurring Power Oddities - Regular Schedule DamienChaos Electrical 16 10-21-2009 07:45 PM
safe way to add extension to power cord sil Electrical 7 10-18-2007 09:58 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.