Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-23-2011, 05:10 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Portable A/C in windowless room


Have a converted garage, that cant keep cool. A supply duct was added during the conversion, but doesn't seem to help much.

Is a portable A/C even an option with no window out there?

Thanks for any/all suggestions

dbower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 05:20 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Portable A/C in windowless room


I have the same configuration....Portable A/C 12000BTU is not working properly in the Texas summer. You need at least 2T If your garage is insulated

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 05:21 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 45
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Portable A/C in windowless room


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
I have the same configuration....Portable A/C 12000BTU is not working properly in the Texas summer. You need at least 2T If your garage is insulated
The garage is insulated.

You're windowless as well? Where do you vent the exhaust?

Last edited by dbower; 08-23-2011 at 05:27 PM.
dbower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 05:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Posts: 335
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Portable A/C in windowless room


Ductless split is the answer you are looking for. If you need heat through other seasons make it a heat pump for not much extra $.
HVACDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 05:32 PM   #5
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Portable A/C in windowless room


Quote:
Originally Posted by dbower View Post
The garage is insulated.

You're windowless as well? Where do you vent the exhaust?
Yes, I made a hole in the wall.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 06:22 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Portable A/C in windowless room


Might want to see if getting a return to the converted garage helps it. A supply running to there with no return reduces the amount of air that can get to that room.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2011, 08:52 PM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,763
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Portable A/C in windowless room


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Might want to see if getting a return to the converted garage helps it. A supply running to there with no return reduces the amount of air that can get to that room.

That's the issue I'm having in my own bedroom. If the land lord is good with it I'm going to add a small (6") supply and one return, or upsize the existing 8 to a 9 x 7 x 7. The only return this old house has is a single 20 x 25 on the lower wall in the hallway. My room stays a few degrees warmer than the living room.
Doc Holliday is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2011, 04:20 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,080
Rewards Points: 54
Default

Portable A/C in windowless room


If the door isn't under cut, a return will make a big difference.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 05:20 PM   #9
Member
 
newtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 245
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Portable A/C in windowless room


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
I have the same configuration....Portable A/C 12000BTU is not working properly in the Texas summer. You need at least 2T If your garage is insulated
May I ask why he needs at least a 2T unit?? No specs were given to the size of the space or the location...

newtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Insulating a cold/well room? Lynch Building & Construction 23 07-25-2014 02:49 PM
First Question: How to cool this room? Warhammer: 3025 HVAC 4 03-25-2009 10:02 AM
Vents from boiler room RammsteinNicCage HVAC 3 03-11-2009 07:28 PM
A room in a room? artosie General DIY Discussions 2 03-10-2009 12:43 PM
Room to Room Vent cjpilot HVAC 5 12-02-2007 08:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.