Plenum Take Off - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-17-2009, 11:46 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south bend, IN
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

plenum take off


how to describe this without a pic?! I just set the furnace, a coil, and have the plenum, size 20 x 20 x 48... I will be connecting to a trunk line.. the furnace is in the MIDDLE of the trunkline, that will start off with 16 x 8 both ways..... o.k. say the trunk goes east and west... I need an offset plenum takeoff.. ( to go back UP to the joist.. I figure I cannot put the actual takeoff AT the joist level), then a short piece of trunk to "t"( north and south running) into the middle of the main trunk I described earlier. Just trying to kinda draw a mental picture!?
what size would I need for this take off and 30 inch or so piece? I figure maybe bigger than the 16 x 8?

Advertisement

sixty7flh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 04:02 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

plenum take off


If your feeding 2-16X8's. A 32X8 would work.
Might be able to get a way with a 30X8.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 05:41 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south bend, IN
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

plenum take off


so that plenum of 20 by 20 will not even work then huh?
sixty7flh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 06:10 PM   #4
Old Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plenum take off


The plenum is OK.
Even at 30x8, a plenum take off can be made to fit the 20 inch plenum.
tinmanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 07:04 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

plenum take off


Plenum size is fine.
Warm air start collar will take care of it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 08:10 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south bend, IN
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

plenum take off


as you can SEE, I am not a tin knocker!! so... on my 20 x 20 plenum, should I cut a hole 8 inches wide by 30 high to fit an offset start collar? I am having a hard time picturing this. I am gonna TRY and get stuff Mon, so maybe then it'll make more sense to me. I am just trying to get some sorta handle on it before I go to the supply house. Preciate ALL your guys help!! dan
sixty7flh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 08:33 PM   #7
Old Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plenum take off


Sunday is shop day for me.
I'll post a picture tomorrow evening of what you need.
tinmanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2009, 08:56 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,425
Rewards Points: 4,496
Default

plenum take off


Don't cut 30" high by 6" wide. That would be counter productive.

Wait for tin's pic.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 11:43 AM   #9
Old Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plenum take off


Here's one I made the other day.
It's an 8x19 plenum take off with a 5" rise - made to fit a 16" plenum.
Attached Thumbnails
plenum take off-imgp2113.jpg   plenum take off-imgp2115.jpg  
tinmanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 12:02 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,062
Rewards Points: 762
Default

plenum take off


Rob, I like the "mallet", seen a few miles has it? First tin banging job I did my "Seniors" did not show me the advantages of using a sheetmetal hammer sideways. Banged about 4 miles of hammerlock up and down before the boss clued me in. The joys of being a newbie.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 12:07 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: south bend, IN
Posts: 43
Rewards Points: 25
Default

plenum take off


Rob.. that is ART! what no foil tape at any joint!?
I never respected tinwork until I did some of it ya know! there was a TIME when I thought I might do some of it, and maybe get better, but those days are gone.. I am a pipefitter, mostly refineries and such, but if I do a commercial or institutional job, tin knockers do the sheet metal, so I am out of it all together anymore! I "did" take all the man j and d classes some 25 years ago. I just forget all it! and yes I screwed up and got rid of my books! never say never I have learned!! so... I had a bud at the supply house size most it for me.. but he didn't know about how I am gonna t into the trunk.. I really appreciate your pics! It helps me understand it better.. It looks like it will not hurt to go with say a smaller opening at the plenum, then step UP to a size I will need for that 2' piece that I will T into the trunk?

so I will probably need a 30 x 8 little trunk.. so this plenum takeoff will be 30 x 8 on one side and what at the plenum side? just whatever they standards ( if they carry these?)? again.. thanx rob! ( and all else!)

dan
sixty7flh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2009, 08:34 PM   #12
Old Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ottawa Valley, Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 70
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plenum take off


The opening on the plenum should be around 18x18.
The mallet has many miles on it, although not all mine.
I bought it at a flea market about 5 years ago for 7 dollars.
I don't know how I ever got by without it.

Advertisement

tinmanrob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unclogging HVAC line at the plenum tam HVAC 4 05-05-2009 06:48 PM
Old Return air plenum for new furnace? Chemist1961 HVAC 1 12-25-2008 11:20 AM
Attaching plenum to furnace. hartkem HVAC 6 11-10-2008 03:17 PM
Removing Extended Plenum Calm_Blue_Ocean HVAC 15 01-07-2008 06:22 PM
Plenum Design winkydink HVAC 1 11-22-2006 11:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts