Plenum Rebuild Vs. Replace - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2011, 01:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

plenum rebuild vs. replace


Hi:

We are in inspection negotiation with a home that we want to purchase. Our inspector noted that the plenum has been in contact with the soil and the bottom has corroded away. The seller's repair agreement says that it will rebuild the plenum. We have no experience in home repairs, much less HVAC--is rebuild fine or should we ask them to replace it? We are waiting to hear back for clarification about the wording, but I would like to know ahead of time if rebuilding it is fine.

They are hiring a local heating and cooling company that has excellent reviews to do the repairs.

thanks!

Advertisement

jennifleur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 02:10 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

plenum rebuild vs. replace


The replace will be rebuilding

Advertisement

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 02:20 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

plenum rebuild vs. replace


Now I'm even more confused.

"Rebuild" to me means they leave the original structure and replace just the corroded part.

"Replace" to me means that they will remove the original plenum and put in a new one.

But maybe "rebuild" means something different in this context that I'm missing?
jennifleur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 02:38 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

plenum rebuild vs. replace


Depends on the material that was used.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 02:57 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 111
Rewards Points: 75
Default

plenum rebuild vs. replace


lol come on guys, give a straight answer, it is much more convenient to replace entire plenum because even if they do a VERY good job, you dont know if something in the plenum has died (i.e. mouse, rat, hippopotomus etc.) thus it will cause a stench and will cost you even MORE money to replace it if that is the case.
Final Notice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2011, 03:56 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 729
Rewards Points: 500
Default

plenum rebuild vs. replace


Nothing smells like a critter caught in the heat strips...

Rebuild or replace will depend on the material used to make the plenum. But more than likely it will be replaced. Its usually easier than trying to attach new material to old..
Now if the plenum runs for a long distance then just the damaged section would be replaced. Which is all that would be needed.

Advertisement


Last edited by Master of Cold; 08-11-2011 at 03:58 PM.
Master of Cold is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Must I replace the coil when I replace the outside condenser unit? plichtenstein HVAC 5 08-24-2010 03:41 PM
cost to replace return boot and filter box..... BlueBSH HVAC 5 08-06-2010 09:50 AM
Basement Flooded ... help me rebuild! hellothere123 General DIY Discussions 3 08-06-2010 03:38 AM
When to replace a furnace? stanlam HVAC 3 07-20-2010 08:21 PM
Need Advice ASAP. New home, seller is paying to replace roof elpa Roofing/Siding 4 02-18-2010 08:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts