Plenum Needs Repiar - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2008, 10:53 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Plenum Needs Repiar


Hi. I just bought a house and need to make a few repairs. I'm in Texas, so the first order of business is to repair the faulty plenum in my attic before I spend a ton of money trying to cool the entire state.

I've attached a picture. Is standard duct tape the best way to repair? Sure seems either a) low class or b) too easy

Thanks!
Attached Images
 

Advertisement

pearlbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 12:11 PM   #2
Not-So-Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Plenum Needs Repiar


Looks like insulated panels made into a plenum. I used to install A.C years ago, and I was skinny and strong enough that I earned the loft title of "Attic Rat" so I have seen and done quite a bit in that realm.
This is how I would do it:
Get some sheet metal of sufficient quantity to make an end (where I see what looks like two flexible ducts attached) and get your tin snips out....
Make collars for the flex duct and cut out appropriate holes in the end you made and install.
Use self tapping sheet metal screws to attach the collars, and the duct, then tape up really well.
I wish I could sketch a picture of what it would look like when done....

Next, you will have a good size flange (at least 2") to surround and overlap the "box" end, and put screws long enough to penetrate the thickness of the insulated board.
Then tape, tape, tape ( Good name brand duct tape)

I am from Alaska originally, and what they say about us is true:

We buy duct tape by the case

Advertisement

Steven62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 12:18 PM   #3
Member
 
1610 CUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keokuk,Iowa
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Plenum Needs Repiar


IMO you need to get the weight off the side plenum where the flex duct comes off. Then sense the duct board is dirty you will need to clean it up so tape will stick. Get some 2 or 3" wide foil tape to make the repair. It looks as if the flex ducts have been hard cast ioto the duct board, you can get hard cast at about any sheet metal shop. Hope it helps........ j
1610 CUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 01:04 PM   #4
Not-So-Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Missouri
Posts: 52
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Plenum Needs Repiar


Cub, I see what you see, I think.

dirt and/ or moisture has caused a lack of adhesion where it is taped, but I had overlooked the way the flex "Hangs" and pulls.
I still think I would use sheet metal, but I am getting old, or so they tell me... So I may be speaking of things that exist in my mind only..
Steven62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 01:49 PM   #5
Member
 
1610 CUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keokuk,Iowa
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Plenum Needs Repiar


Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven62 View Post
Cub, I see what you see, I think.

dirt and/ or moisture has caused a lack of adhesion where it is taped, but I had overlooked the way the flex "Hangs" and pulls.
I still think I would use sheet metal, but I am getting old, or so they tell me... So I may be speaking of things that exist in my mind only..
The trouble with trying to put sheet metal on is there is nothing to screw it to. Now if you wanted to open up the duct and put in an inner piece of metal so the outer piece has something to screw into ..... OK but I don't like being in a hot attic any longer than necessary! Get the foil tape and the 'Hard Cast'
1610 CUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 04:08 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Plenum Needs Repiar


Thanks. Those were pretty much my thoughts. Sounds like I'll be in a hot attic with a little acetone and some foil and duct tape.

Not really understand the additional 'hard cast' that I might need.

I can certainly look to see if those ducts are pulling on the plenum causing seperation. I have a feeling someone was just sloppy when they moved their crap of the crawl space and whacked my plenum. Oooooww...my plenum hurts.
pearlbeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2008, 05:13 PM   #7
Member
 
1610 CUB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Keokuk,Iowa
Posts: 209
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Plenum Needs Repiar


here ya go get a tube of this http://www.hardcast.com/PRODUCTS/pdfs/DS321.pdf you should be ableto get it at any sheet metal shop it will work!

Advertisement

1610 CUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Removing Extended Plenum Calm_Blue_Ocean HVAC 15 01-07-2008 06:22 PM
coming off the plenum to trunk lines qnzkrew HVAC 3 01-01-2008 10:27 PM
Plenum - Where to buy? zootjeff HVAC 1 07-11-2007 09:21 PM
Condensation blowing off A coil into plenum kona1406 HVAC 6 05-26-2007 08:50 PM
Plenum Design winkydink HVAC 1 11-22-2006 11:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts