Plenum Dimensions - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2011, 08:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

plenum dimensions


I live in New Jersey. I am istalling a furnace in the basement in the vertical position with the supply air passing thru an AC coil at the top and then into a plenum.
1) What is the minimum distance allowed from the top of the plenum to the floor joists above?
2) What is the minimum height allowed for a plenum?
3) What is the minimum distance allowed between the top of the plenum and the top of the starting collar connecting the plenum to the trunk?
4) What is the minimum distance allowed between the bottom of the plenum and the bottom of the starting collar?
Thanks

Advertisement

Hermand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 09:10 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default

plenum dimensions


Typically, plenums are 36" tall and it can go all the way to the rafters If you want...some require 1" from anything combustable, but that is in re to flue pipe, not plenum.

Don't pull a duct off of the top; other ducts should be appx. 6-12" from the top and 6-12" from the bottom ( the farther, the better).

Advertisement

Poppyloppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 11:48 PM   #3
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

plenum dimensions


Here the Plenum and duct must be 1" from combustables for a minimum of 3'. Most top takeoffs are set up for the supply duct to be Don 1" from the joists. The return should be tight to the joists.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 09:30 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

plenum dimensions


Does the plenum height include the height of the AC coil?
Hermand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 11:02 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Dallas, Texas
Posts: 50
Rewards Points: 25
Default

plenum dimensions


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermand View Post
Does the plenum height include the height of the AC coil?

nOPE.
Poppyloppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2011, 01:24 PM   #6
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Rewards Points: 250
Default

plenum dimensions


Your Plenum length is going to be the length from the top of the coil to 1" below the joist.

Advertisement

hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plenum splitter design & linkage rebar HVAC 8 01-19-2010 08:18 AM
Old Return air plenum for new furnace? Chemist1961 HVAC 1 12-25-2008 11:20 AM
Attaching plenum to furnace. hartkem HVAC 6 11-10-2008 03:17 PM
Removing Extended Plenum Calm_Blue_Ocean HVAC 15 01-07-2008 06:22 PM
Plenum Design winkydink HVAC 1 11-22-2006 11:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts