Plenum Code Requirement - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 11-21-2008, 09:48 AM   #1
JPM
Bill Traver

Rewards Points: 81

Plenum code requirement

I am new to furnaces but am attempting to install an upflow Goodman gas furnace (2nd smallest unit they sell) in the basement area of an apartment. Two questions ...
1. Going into the chimney are two hot water heaters 3in duct lines. I would like to join them then expand into 4in line then wye for the furnace then into the chimney. So I would have the small furnace (70M btu) along with the 2 40gal hot water heaters into the inch line. Is that okay?
2. The plenum given to me from the plumbing supply store has proper width and length but is too tall for the height of the basement ... can I just trim off about 1/4 or so of height to get it to fit? Also, what is the minimum clearance needed between top of plenum and the the joists for the floor above?

Thanks!

Advertisement

JPM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2008, 11:23 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

Plenum code requirement

I think you should Google vent tables and take a look at them.

If you are adding an additional gas appliance your chimney must be the right capacity, otherwise you get monoxide backing up into home.

Advertisement

Old 11-21-2008, 12:46 PM   #3
JPM
Bill Traver

Plenum code requirement

Thanks for that.

I am okay with chimney size as there are other units that have similar number of appliances.

The difference is that in the other units, the appliances are piped into the chimney in all sorts of manner ... some together, some singularly. I would like to correct this by going in with one proper size and wyeing off it as I go back towards the appliances. If that is case, then am I okay with the 4in line?

Again, thanks for your help.
Old 11-21-2008, 12:55 PM   #4

Rewards Points: 500