Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2011, 10:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


Hi,
my thermostat (Totaline model # P374-1100) just stopped working. the digital screen is dead and no red light. It was working just fine the day before so i'm guessing the motherboard is fried. i am trying to change it but all the ones at home depot use batteries and mine is fully hardwired. can i just replace it with the new ones even though i will have extra wires? i'm including a picture of how it is wired now (i haven't done anything to it yet)... thanks! Jen
Attached Thumbnails
Please help - wiring thermostat...-downsize.jpg  

jenL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:31 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


Can you please confirm the letter at each terminal that each color wire is connected to? It's very hard to see.

wire color - letter

Green-G
Red-R
Brown-C

so on and so forth. You have a heat pump? You have an electrical testing meter?

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:33 PM   #3
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


That is hook on common that is t-stat is wire hot all times. That is t-stat may not be the problem. It is a short in 24 volts and the 3 amp fuse is blown.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:35 PM   #4
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


You need find the short. You need look at low voltage wiring from t stat inside the unit and outside. Ps on the new t stat were it says do not use spot. That is for the common wire.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 10:38 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


That's why I asked if she had a meter. Me thinks fuse or transformer went bye bye. Stat is okay.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 05:29 AM   #6
jkv
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 122
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


Jen you can put a new t-stat on but I would check the fuse inside the furnace there should be a 3 A fuse comeing out of the transformer. The r wire in your t-stat is the hot or power to the t-stat the batteries in the one you are looking at controls the LED at the t-stat. Hey doc what is with (me thinks) To much freon?
jkv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 07:52 AM   #7
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


Judging by your inability to spell the very simplest of words in the English language, printed like a dyslexic deaf dumb and blind retarded first grader I'd have to assume that, yes. But even then, freon would be the least of your worries, me thinks.

COMING wOulD bE CoRrEcT. Da.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 07:56 AM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


oOps, i dUhn fOrgOt A eMotIcOn tO eNsUrEs dAt yOus nOEs dAt i wUz dUh gOkIng.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:02 AM   #9
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


lucky I didn't use, "bye bye bye bye bye bye."


Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:12 AM   #10
jkv
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 122
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


Good one Doc. Did you get that heat pump up & running?
jkv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 08:43 AM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,679
Default

Please help - wiring thermostat...


On my way to Century (Rheem Ruud distributor) now but yes. According to Century Tech Support, these two brands are the only ones that energize on heat with the use of B. Also said they were the only ones who had it right. The guys at American Standard (Aces) even agreed yesterday when I was there picking up an ignitor and browsing for a compatible stat for the Ruud.
All else use O energized on cool and right now I have O from the old Carrier Comfortmaker stat (no B present. no switch either) hooked to the B from the defrost board on the Ruud heat pump so the calling status is backwards.

There's an entire thread on it.

I'll be taking some more pictures to add to my life long portfolio , posting in a few.

Adios amigos.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 zone damper 2 thermostat wiring help kostia HVAC 10 08-22-2010 09:57 AM
Thermostat wiring dimbulb HVAC 16 08-20-2010 11:49 AM
Honeywell Prestige HD thermostat wiring 1H/1C + Humidification System TekGamer HVAC 0 07-09-2010 11:58 PM
Unexpected wiring found on existing thermostat mportobello HVAC 12 03-30-2010 06:11 AM
Thermostat wiring question cpuken HVAC 4 12-14-2009 07:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.