Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2012, 06:19 PM   #31
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

Please help with upgrade!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bobelectric View Post
Did you get booted out of the Union?
What makes you think I was ever in the Union? I was only in residential, I did electrical work in my early 20's and built houses for about 10 years till the market crashed. Started over 5 years ago in automotive!

southern_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:37 PM   #32
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Please help with upgrade!


Quote:
Originally Posted by pucks101 View Post
I read through this whole thing but it's late so maybe I'm not comprehending it all. Why do you think you need to resize?
It's unlikely he does....but some of the members are insisting that whatever size he has and no matter how well it worked, it must be wrong because a manual j wasn't done.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:47 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Please help with upgrade!


Quote:
Originally Posted by pucks101 View Post
I read through this whole thing but it's late so maybe I'm not comprehending it all. Why do you think you need to resize?

What was the attic insulation- Like an R30? Can you add some more up there? Do you have an attic fan to get the heat out of there? Doing a few little things like that will make the upstairs much cooler, and might be necessary if you're trying to get a smaller unit.

But I'm not sure what the problem with sizing was. How many square feet is the house - approx sq ft, just to get an idea of how big of a place we're talking about? Did the old units run too much and not make thermostat? Did the AC cycle off too quickly, leaving the humidity behind? Any problems with the heat or just AC? Did either break down frequently or run well for years? DO you think you need bigger or smaller, and why?

The insulation has all been looked at, in the process of upgrading except the r-11 in the walls, I did the calculations for r-30 accept the roof/ceiling combinations which is maxed at r-19. It has plenty of cornice vents and a ridge vents. It also has several power ventilators which I am removing due to the fact they work against the ridge vent and motors go out every so often.
The whole house is 4,500 sq ft heated and cooled. 2,200 upstairs. Several reasons I wanted it done. For one, no one was planning on a new line set for the 1/4 existing one and I heard "we will make it right" way to many times from them all, walked with all 3 companies as they looked at the units to do their sizing. BS, they should tell me what is going to be right up front. You know how many guys I work with that "been doing this for 30 years", but will turn around and impact a set of heads down. Should I trust someone who wants a fast $ but looks past a good inspection on a high dollar job?
Her current 2 ton Zone 2 unit did cycle off fast, 3 ton upstairs seemed fine which is why I questioned the calculations for it but one of her estimates showed a 2, 3, 3 ton cause he said they did not make 1/2 tons in the 16 seer of goodman. Looks like that 3 sized more out around a 2 and I am glad I did them now
southern_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 06:53 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Default

Please help with upgrade!


This has me thinking back to all the guys that never wired units up right new houses cause they were either blind, could not read or just had no clue to look on the plate.
southern_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 07:07 PM   #35
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,559
Default

Please help with upgrade!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
It's unlikely he does....but some of the members are insisting that whatever size he has and no matter how well it worked, it must be wrong because a manual j wasn't done.
Just because something seems to work ok, doesn't mean its right.

Lots of over sized equipment cools the home its in. Too bad it doesn't dehumidify the home though.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 07:41 PM   #36
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

Please help with upgrade!


Here is another way to look at it.
If all you had to do is get to work and you had a choice,
Would you run a 396 1969 chevy malibu or
a 2012 4 cylinder malibu.
You would of course have to gas and oil change it .
You could say that the 396 ran fine but it only gets 7.9 gpm and the 4 cylinder gets 26 mpg.
Do you understand now? or are you still too rich to care about other peoples money.
It is a fact that an a/c unit too large will short cycle.It will quickly get down to the set tempature but the air will not be mixed and it will not be on longb enough to address the humidity problem.So where do you gets runs fine even if its too big?
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2012, 08:38 PM   #37
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

Please help with upgrade!


You have done all your homework. You have your calculations and estimates. What's left is to find someone reputable....and that is usually the hardest part. Get references. How long has the company been in business? How long is the warranty from the installer and what does it cover? As far as the humidity goes it's probably more construction related than HVAC. Those larger homes are great and need to be preserved, unfortunately the HVAC industry has grown with technology so fast that what was considered state of the art 20 years ago is almost obsolete technology. Not sure if it's been asked (been dodging insults) but is LP a consideration, or perhaps geothermal?

And as far as the poster with the 396 analogy....I'd rather have a 427...but that's not apples to apples either.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We May Soon Be Moving And Need Upgrade Advice osudaddy Remodeling 4 01-06-2011 06:57 PM
Upgrade panel, add subpanel, add tandem breakers? oregondiy Electrical 11 12-30-2010 10:45 PM
Help planning service upgrade FremontJoe Electrical 2 12-07-2010 03:02 PM
service upgrade needed ? 37victor3 Electrical 2 09-24-2010 10:51 PM
house power supply upgrade in Australia pcd1965 Electrical 3 08-22-2009 08:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.