Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2012, 05:28 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Share |
Default

Please help: Relocating a thermostat


yes those 2 flat head screw should be loosened to remove from sub-base. I want to say there is really 3 just can't see the 3 rd in the pic but I am not sure.

The screws don't typically remove all the way they are held in place so you don't loose them. They do unscrew unit you feel they are not connected.

turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2012, 07:42 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Please help: Relocating a thermostat


I think I see the third screw hiding under the red wire just below the .25 on the heat anticipator.
Hvacwin is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Hvacwin For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (08-06-2012)
Old 08-07-2012, 03:27 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Please help: Relocating a thermostat


I got the control plate off. Just needed to use a slotted screw driver with a snug fit. The wire colors are actually labelled on the wall plate, only they've used a blue wire for what is labelled green.





Notice that the red wire is touching screws at both "R" and "A."

Okay. I shut the circuit breaker off for the furnace. LED is out at the furnace control panel. Left the circuit breaker for the AC/condenser on.


Last edited by peterk312; 08-07-2012 at 05:26 PM.
peterk312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:21 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 16
Default

Please help: Relocating a thermostat


I decided to just reconnect the new thermostat wire at the furnace control panel rather than splice wires. Everything is clearly visible and labelled so no worries. I used the blue wire instead of green because that's the way it was. Silly, isn't it?








Put the mounting plate on the wall in the new location, level as instructed above.








Everything else went together fine. Still works. Here it is in the new location next to the utility closet door. That's the return air vent below the door.





Easier than I first thought. Just need to patch the wall now at the old location. Thanks much for the help. I hope the pics will help others in the future who might be relocating one of these old thermostats.

peterk312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat issues on old furnace - questions before I replace thermostat. Calab HVAC 11 02-18-2012 08:43 AM
Thermostat for electric baseboard wiring help needed vae_victis HVAC 10 01-05-2012 10:53 AM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Thermostat issues rathipon HVAC 4 01-29-2011 11:46 AM
Relocating the Thermostat.... donste2010 Electrical 5 01-20-2010 10:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.