Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 08-03-2012, 04:27 PM   #1

Share |

Please help: Relocating a thermostat

I've never done this before, so I'm trying to avoid a stupid mistake. The thermostat is in a rental, and I need to be careful. The thermostat is a Carrier Class 2 LR1620 30V.

It's the older type with the mercury switch.

The photo above is with the first plate taken off. There's another plate that fastens to what looks like a wall mount (you can see there's a gap between them in the top photo). Do I remove the screws you see above to get the middle plate off the mounting plate?

Here's a shot of the furnace:

There's two thin wires on either side of the furnace, but the brown wire coming from the left side is going into the wall where the thermostat is located. I have no clue what the other wire is for on the right side. This thermostat is used for both a furnace and an air conditioning unit, so I do not know if the wires for each are coming from the same directions. I want to relocate the thermostat on the outside of the wall of the utility closet by simply cutting the wire at the furnace and reconnecting.

Can somebody help walk me through this?

Thanks.

peterk312 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 04:41 PM   #2

Turn off power at the furnace before you cut or undo the wires. Other than that should be just run the new tstat wire. and reconnect to the furnace and tstat. take pic of wiring on both sides use same colors. Make sure use use 18 gauge tstat wire. Will need new wire to have 5 conductors.

turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 05:55 PM   #3

5 wires? Most of the ones I run across have 4 (R, W, Y and G).
scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 05:59 PM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmcd9999 View Post
5 wires? Most of the ones I run across have 4 (R, W, Y and G).