Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-26-2013, 11:26 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 69
Share |
Default

Please help with Furnace - Flame is choking!


Hi,

Can someone please help me with my furnace? I have an Armstrong furnace about 15 years old. The pressure switch was bad so I replaced a new one but for some reason the furnace doesn't hold a constant flame. The flame went on for about 10 second and off then on...kinda like something is choking.

Thank you everyone for your time!

bcdinh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 11:58 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Please help with Furnace - Flame is choking!


post a pic of it with the doors off so we know what kind it is. if it is a high efficiency unit with plastic pipes instead of a chimney check them for obstructions outside.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 06:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,291
Default

Please help with Furnace - Flame is choking!


check and clean or replace flame sensor....ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (08-26-2013)
Old 08-26-2013, 06:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Please help with Furnace - Flame is choking!


by choking do you mean it is shutting completely off or just lowering or "floating around. A good strong flame should "stand" tall on the burners and burn a nice solid blue.

Alex, I'll take dirty flame sensor for $600.00
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 06:36 PM   #5
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

Please help with Furnace - Flame is choking!


check the rounds on that IDF squirrel cage and verify it isn't spinning on he IDF motor shaft
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace lights up, but then shuts down soon after... justplumducky HVAC 1 11-18-2012 09:25 PM
flame sensor ducane furnace real madrid HVAC 3 02-17-2012 07:08 AM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Trane Gas Furnace - blower on but no flame at burners herbert8101 HVAC 2 09-24-2011 08:23 PM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.