Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2008, 10:38 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

pilot light confusion please help


Hello there I have an old furance with a standing pilot light but i doint understand why my pilot light goes out when i turn up the upstairs thermostat. The thermostat clicks like its ready but when i go back to the furance the pilot is out. As well when i turn the blower fan switch to on the fan does not come on. Any suggestions, Thks.

fastcarsca1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 10:45 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pilot light confusion please help


Get a bottle brush and clean off the area around the pilot light. This might be the problem. When the furnace fires up the "poof" if igniting gas blows out the pilot light and then thermocouple shuts off the gas.

I just had one like this last spring.

If not then there might be a problem with the thermocouple. I see this sometimes when they are going out.

Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 10:52 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pilot light confusion please help


ok I will try that thks but it seems like there is no poof the pilot light just slowly dies out and without being able to turn the blower fan on manually was also thing maby a power problum.
fastcarsca1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 11:44 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pilot light confusion please help


Quote:
Originally Posted by fastcarsca1 View Post
ok I will try that thks but it seems like there is no poof the pilot light just slowly dies out and without being able to turn the blower fan on manually was also thing maby a power problum.
Then replace your thermocouple. It is cheap and easy to do. If that works then you are good to go. It is doesn't then time to call a professional (or get lots of blankets).
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2008, 02:44 PM   #5
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

pilot light confusion please help


I agree with Marvin. Try a new thermocouple. Heating a thermocouple creates it's own small amount of voltage, which holds open the pilot valve section of the gas valve. It is totally independent of the 120V supplying the furnace from the house. Standing pilots need no external electricity.

The fact of not being able to turn on the blower fan at the t-stat is a completely separate problem. The stat may be bad, or not wired correctly. Many furnaces that do not have AC (heat only) are only wired with a 2 conductor t-stat cable. A third is needed to be able to use the blower in manual mode. There also may be other electrical issues with in the furnace itself.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring diagram for three-way switches with pilot light SaxTeacher Electrical 34 09-15-2013 07:53 AM
Pilot Light Won't Stay Lit etiger1 HVAC 7 10-19-2009 07:09 PM
Is a pilot light supose to stay on? simonb HVAC 2 06-11-2008 05:16 PM
heat turns pilot light off tclarkmd HVAC 3 10-12-2007 09:37 AM
hot pilot light supply line dlkk HVAC 1 02-24-2006 05:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.