Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-06-2012, 04:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Pilot Light


Hi Everyone,
I have a Goodman GPUS 100-4. All summer the furnace was OFF. Now when I ignited the pilot light for a first time the flame was ok, about 2” long and it heating the thermocouple. The main burners start working fine and when they stopped because of the room set point is reached, the flame of the pilot light is really small about 1/4” and doesn’t touches the thermocouple. What could cause the flame to be so small?
Thank you


Last edited by Dim1; 10-06-2012 at 04:17 PM.
Dim1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 04:20 PM   #2
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,491
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pilot Light


A small bit of debris in the pilot orifice would be the first thing to check.
Try taking a long screwdriver and tapping the base of the pilot assy like you were knocking on someones front door while the pilot pressure is being activated. If it doesn't clear up then the pilot assy needs to be dis assembled to deal with the orifice. For many this is a pro type of job.

how is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
Dim1 (10-06-2012)
Old 10-06-2012, 04:24 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pilot Light


Thank you,
I will try it.
Dim1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2012, 06:02 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,325
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pilot Light


save time remove pilot assy ...clean tube and orifice ..seems to be dirty...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:57 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Pilot Light


I cleaned the pilot tube and orifice, replaced the termalcouple and the furnace works again.
Thank you HOW and ben's plumbing .
Dim1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to diagnose gas valve problems Nestor_Kelebay How To Guides 28 10-30-2013 04:19 PM
Williams NG furnace pilot light will not stay lit zBernie HVAC 1 12-04-2011 10:06 PM
single pole switch with pilot light tsc2011 Electrical 8 11-29-2011 07:50 AM
Pilot Light works once, then have to re-light after furnace goes off aransas42 HVAC 8 09-30-2009 07:49 AM
Is a pilot light supose to stay on? simonb HVAC 2 06-11-2008 05:16 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.