Pilot Flame...too Big? - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2009, 08:44 AM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


G6 pilot assmbly, I think.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 10:58 AM   #17
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


Can't picture the 1 you are talking about.. This is the 1 I was thinking of








kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 11:00 AM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,548
Rewards Points: 4,734
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


I'm thinking of an older one yet.

Just showing my age a little I guess. oops. LOL
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 11:03 AM   #19
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
Can't picture the 1 you are talking about.. This is the 1 I was thinking of









If it's spark then that's the one.

Only other kind was a two wire assy
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 11:11 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


That's the one. In fact, that picture is from the website where I ordered my replacement.
timcoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 11:15 AM   #21
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


I think That one had a small coil that heats up red hot to light pilot & some had a spark..can't remember which had wihich haven't seen these in a while. For some reason, I still carry 1 on my truck .Old bi metal stuff.. You can probably re- use your old pilot tubing

Last edited by kenmac; 04-16-2009 at 11:19 AM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 11:26 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


Thanks, kenmac. Mine has the spark ignitor, which I also got a replacement for. I'm sure that would go next, so I figured better have it just in case.

I guess I should consider myself lucky, this thing has been running like a trooper for quite a while now. We just started the "furnace replacement fund"...I hope it's "funded" before I need it!
timcoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 12:10 PM   #23
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,122
Rewards Points: 882
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


Make sure you have 2 newer good quality CO detectors in your house. One near your bedroom and the other in the furnace room or stairwell leading upstairs. Heat exchangers can crack at any time after 20 yrs or sooner for some brands.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 12:44 PM   #24
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
If it's spark then that's the one.

Only other kind was a two wire assy

HEY PROS!Just curious how you troubleshoot this assy to make sure its not the valve.

I use my volt meter plugged into the pilot and main burner receptacle in the assy wire harness and let the pilot burn long enough 'til the bi metal either drops out of main burner. I f it does not drop main burner after twenty minutes I call it the pilot assy..

How about you guys?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 04-16-2009 at 04:23 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2009, 01:21 PM   #25
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Pilot flame...too big?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
HEY PROS!Just curious how you troubleshoot this assy to make sure its not the valve.

I use my volt meter plugged into the pilot and main burner receptacle in the assy wire harness and let the pilot burn long enough 'til the bi metal either drops out of main burner. I f it does not drop main burner after twenty minutes I call it the valve.

How about you guys?

I'am by far a ''PRO'' But, I'll give it a shot.....I would un plug the pilot, connect my meter to the bi metal connection wire & what would be the Power wire. set to ohms scale. If bi metal has made up it should show contiuity between the voltage wire & what I would call the common wire or bi metal wire...I say it's the valve

Provided ,I have correct voltage in the correct placed

Advertisement


Last edited by kenmac; 04-16-2009 at 02:01 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to diagnose gas valve problems Nestor_Kelebay How To Guides 28 10-30-2013 05:19 PM
Urgent! House Cold, NO heat, pilot lit (Lennox) ThatGuy23 HVAC 15 02-05-2009 10:11 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-06-2008 12:03 AM
Utica Boiler Pilot light on but will not flame up! MGB150HID HVAC 2 12-10-2007 05:48 PM
heat turns pilot light off tclarkmd HVAC 3 10-12-2007 10:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts