Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2011, 06:44 PM   #16
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,098
Share |
Default

Pick me a stat


Dual Stage Furnace

Jack, see the above link to another thread. As for a thermostat with sensors, there are the Proliphix thermostats. http://proliphix.com/ and the ecobee's http://www.ecobee.com/ I have a 3m Filtrete wifi/re-branded Radio Thermostat Company CT-30. It does not have multiple sensors like the other two above, but it is as simple as they get for wifi/Internet capable thermostats. The CT-80 is a better thermostat, but costs about $150 more than the ct-30

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 10-10-2011 at 06:50 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 06:54 PM   #17
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,027
Default

Pick me a stat


On what side of the house is the sensor.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 06:57 PM   #18
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,098
Default

Pick me a stat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
On what side of the house is the sensor.
I am guessing that it is not on the North side.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:03 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Default

Pick me a stat


Thanks but those are way more elaborate than I need. I really dont need or want day to day programming. I prefer to walk by and press an up or down button as I walk by.
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:24 PM   #20
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,098
Default

Pick me a stat


Quote:
Originally Posted by JackDidley View Post
Thanks but those are way more elaborate than I need. I really dont need or want day to day programming. I prefer to walk by and press an up or down button as I walk by.
The 3m you can do that, by placing into Simple mode. Problem with just walking up and pressing a button, and not using a programmable type, is that you are throwing your money out, especially if you do not change the temp to a higher during the Summer to not cool the home when no one is home, same with setting lower during the Winter.

It is your money, there are a lot of choices out there, from Simple to high end.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:33 PM   #21
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Pick me a stat


Heat pumps are best to set it and forget it. Too much energy is wasted trying to overcome a setback temp.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:37 PM   #22
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,098
Default

Pick me a stat


I personally disagree with leave and do not change, regardless if the system is a heat pump or conventional, due to the multiple studies show that you save money using a programmable, along with the facts that are there from homeowners that have used programmable thermostats over simple stats.

Lowering when you go to bed, and raising when people are home, and leaving, also works. Any system that has a programmable set-back thermostat will actually benefit more, than one that is single program, due to most leave and forget to change to a higher temp in the Summer, or lower temp in the Winter, when going to work. Why heat & cool the house, when no one is there. Worst thing to do is shut the system completely off, best is set it a few degrees from what you normally use, and do not set way too high, or way too low, which again is worst for either a conventional or heat pump system.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:44 PM   #23
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Pick me a stat


Because backup heating cost so much more than heating with the heat pump it does not make sense to go to backup heat which is what will be called for from the stat if you use a set back.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:45 PM   #24
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,098
Default

Pick me a stat


The most simple Honeywell thermostat out there http://yourhome.honeywell.com/home/P...ummaryList.htm http://yourhome.honeywell.com/home/P...ummaryList.htm take your pick.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?

Last edited by gregzoll; 10-10-2011 at 07:47 PM.
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:46 PM   #25
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Pick me a stat


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
The most simple Honeywell thermostat out there http://www.alpinehomeair.com/viewpro...nkfrom=froogle
will not work with dual fuel without a fossil fuel kit.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:50 PM   #26
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,098
Default

Pick me a stat


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvactech126 View Post
Because backup heating cost so much more than heating with the heat pump it does not make sense to go to backup heat which is what will be called for from the stat if you use a set back.
The only way that back up heating is going to kick in, is one it is so cold outside, that the HP can not do its job, or two, the person lowers the temp so low, then raises it so high, along with not having a high efficiency system. Also, not having the system properly set up or properly maintained to begin with, will also cause back up heat to kick in, when it shouldn't.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:54 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Default

Pick me a stat


Sensor is on the south side. If you guys keep talking, Im still listening.

Also, sometimes I work days, sometimes nights. Unpredictable, no way to program for that.

Last edited by JackDidley; 10-10-2011 at 07:57 PM.
JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:57 PM   #28
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,098
Default

Pick me a stat


Quote:
Originally Posted by JackDidley View Post
Sensor is on the south side. If you guys keep talking, Im still listening.
Bad side of the house. Move it to the North side, or side of the house that is not direct sun during morning or afternoon. If all you want to do, is continue with false readings, that will cause it.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:58 PM   #29
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Pick me a stat


more than a 2 degree droop and it will call for backup or at least should! That is other than by using the IAQ and locking out the aux heat above a set temp, but set that too low and you will be wasting money trying to heat with only the HP and it will not keep up and be uncomfortable, as you said, Greg, it must be setup properly.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS

Last edited by hvactech126; 10-10-2011 at 08:00 PM.
hvactech126 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2011, 07:59 PM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S.W. Indiana
Posts: 263
Default

Pick me a stat


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Bad side of the house. Move it to the North side, or side of the house that is not direct sun during morning or afternoon. If all you want to do, is continue with false readings, that will cause it.

I can do that. Easy fix.

JackDidley is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T stat with 2 wires on 240? OffRoadAudio Electrical 6 12-13-2011 06:52 PM
Replacement Thermostat Problem! Confuserated HVAC 8 03-26-2010 08:17 AM
LUX digital stat Trane XE80 intermittant problem rossl56 HVAC 6 12-26-2008 05:53 AM
Which Stat for New Carrier 58 MV Chemist1961 HVAC 10 12-21-2008 06:35 PM
ritetemp programmable stat miked18 HVAC 9 12-17-2007 06:20 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.