Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2010, 10:42 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

Payne with power venter problem


I have a Payne PG8JAA/MAA vented with a power vent. When there is a call for heat before the power vent has shut down fully, the furnace goes into lockout (code 23). At that point, the power vent stays on indefinitely and the house gets very cold. It can be reset by turning the thermostat off and waiting for the power vent to shut down before restarting. We have tried setting the cycle time lower and bought a new thermostat but still have the same problem. We did have the guy who installed the furnace come back to look at it a couple of times but he really wasn't good at troubleshooting. It doesn't happen all the time, just when there is a call for heat before the power vent is fully shut down but it has happened when we aren't home to catch it, so we would really like to stop it from happening. Is there something I can do to fix this problem?

magicatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 10:52 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Payne with power venter problem


How old is it. Probably the ventor fan relay on the circuit board is sticking On and you need a new board. The new board is probably a retrofit and can be quite tricky to install as it has adaptor cables and needs a fair mech knowledge to do.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 11:33 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Payne with power venter problem


While it is possible that the fan relay is sticking, it is only doing so during the 45 seconds that it takes for the power vent to shut down. The problem can be intentionally manually recreated by pushing the temperature setting up on the thermostat (making it call for heat) while it is shutting down (during that 45 seconds).
magicatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2010, 12:01 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,220
Default

Payne with power venter problem


The relay has to release and then the ventor fan slows down, loses vacuum and then the pressure switch opens and the board checks for that B4 it allows another cycle to start. There usually is a timing circuit to prevent nuisance lockouts but I suspect your board is faulty. You are confusing it. I have worked on hundreds of those units and replacing circuit boards with intermittent problems happens all the time. Relays wear out and stick and solder joints break on those older boards. There should be NO call for heat B4 the ventor fan shuts down unless your tstat is faulty and short cycling or cutting in for no reason. Try a new Honeywell Focus Pro tstat from HDepot if that is the case.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 12-11-2010 at 12:04 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2010, 10:27 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Payne with power venter problem


We seem to have fixed the problem. It turns out that the technician who installed it wasn't good at reading wiring diagrams either. He had some things wired incorrectly. We're surprised it was running at all. Thanks for all the help.
magicatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 01:59 AM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Payne with power venter problem


You can't wire that furnace incorrectly. The board uses a plug in harness. What is there to mis wire?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 10:00 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Payne with power venter problem


He wired it so the thermostat out and the power ventor in and out were connected to one furnace terminal but only the power venter out was supposed to be connected to that terminal. We're surprised it was working at all.
magicatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 11:58 AM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Payne with power venter problem


You post is little hard to unerstand.

You say he wired the inducer and stat together?

sorry but that makes no sense to me.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 12-17-2010 at 03:40 PM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 12:32 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Payne with power venter problem


It's not supposed to make sense. It's just what he did.
magicatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 03:45 PM   #10
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Payne with power venter problem


Do not take a smart butt attitude. You posted a question that pros and knowledgeable DIYers will respond to.
We don't have time for posters putting up gibberish just to entertain them selves.

You have a furnace problem post it so it's understandable or move on.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2010, 07:25 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 6
Default

Payne with power venter problem


I wasn't trying to be flip, I was simply stating what the "reputable" professional who installed the furnace had done. I have no idea why he did what he did, so I can't explain it to you any better. I had also said that the problem had been fixed by the time that you asked for clarification--actually, you asked for clarification on HOW I fixed it. I simply told you what had been done. There's no need to be nasty.

magicatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
payne, power vent


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 06:42 PM
No power to all outlets on circuit. noloawarfare Electrical 4 05-01-2010 04:41 PM
Add more power to the house? (kinda long) tmtrebor Electrical 5 04-30-2010 03:19 PM
Power Save Device capt2 Electrical 52 02-24-2010 06:42 PM
Partial power on same fuse! joyjam Electrical 5 07-10-2005 10:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.