Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-09-2009, 04:32 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

payne plus 90 - no flame


I got back from vacation and asked my father to turn my furnace up to 70 before my family got back to house. I got to house and thermostat was at 59, set for 70. Furnace cycles but no flame. Replaced ignitor which seemed to fix problem, furnace came on flame kicking out heat went to get family returned a few hours later to find temp was at 68 set for 72 and furnace is doing same thing, cycles no heat. The temp out side is around 15 so I thought maybe the ignitor was bad, or I damaged it going in so i bought another for $25 and put it. Furnace did same thing started up fine flame on and heated the house from 58 to 68 and now the same problem is occuring heater cycles and does not kick out a flame. Trouble code flashes 31; outside vents clear and unobstructed. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, thanks.

Michigan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 04:37 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

payne plus 90 - no flame


right after posting register pumping out warm air; checked furnace flame on everything seems ok.

What could be causing this problem if the furnace stops igniting again?

Thanks

Michigan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 05:49 PM   #3
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,267
Default

payne plus 90 - no flame


That code could be a pressure switch problem due to partially blocked venting. If it has a concentric kit outside stick your fingers in behind it and check for ice/blockage. There has been a lot of problems with the pressure switches failing on those units if it mounts on the ventor fan. I have changed quite a few. Probably a good idea to replace it. Make sure there is NO snow pile/buildup near the vent pipes or it may recirculate into the intake etc.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 07:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

payne plus 90 - no flame


Your condensate drain may be draining slow. You should clean the condensate trap annually.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 09:29 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
Default

payne plus 90 - no flame


thanks skip, the condensate had lots of build up and was draining slowly, I drained about 1 liter out and cleared out the trap and lines leading up to and after trap.

Have had no problem since clearing trap last night.
Thanks again,
Carl
Michigan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Brand new PAYNE PG9MAB won't start . Error code 12 tp618 HVAC 3 12-19-2008 09:21 PM
Luxaire Flame Lockout RpaulB HVAC 8 01-18-2008 04:15 PM
comfortmaker flame sensor big ron Appliances 1 11-02-2007 09:20 AM
Flame blowin' in the wind... testeng HVAC 4 10-28-2007 03:11 PM
new 3 ton hvac Payne units. No cool air comes out when fan, compressor,thermostat run runbikeengr HVAC 10 04-10-2007 05:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.