Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-17-2009, 06:55 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Share |
Default

"Payne" in my?


My furnace 90% payne only fires when i have the sight glass door off the burner assembly any ideas why?
mhoy9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 07:56 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

"Payne" in my?


Quote:
Originally Posted by mhoy9 View Post
My furnace 90% payne only fires when i have the sight glass door off the burner assembly any ideas why?


It probably needs air........ When you take the door off it has air
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 07:59 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default

"Payne" in my?


wow thanks clogged vent/pressure switch any extra insight
mhoy9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 08:04 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

"Payne" in my?


clogged vent.. I don't know how your unit is vented.. I only know it should be PVC.. Does it bring air outside in from the same vent it exhaust through ?? or, Does it have 2 seprate pipes ? If 2 pipes 1 is exhaust 1 is intake

Last edited by kenmac; 04-17-2009 at 08:12 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 08:28 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 9
Default

"Payne" in my?


worked fine until recently vented in a concentric
mhoy9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 08:39 PM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

"Payne" in my?


Well it's not getting any air for some reason .. Won't burn without air.. Look for obstruction in the intake
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2009, 08:45 PM   #7
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

"Payne" in my?


Does the furnace have a plasitc / rubber plug on the side or top that will allow air to the combustion area ??
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.