Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2011, 07:17 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,432
Rewards Points: 2,178
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


Iagree with beenthere should not be water at that tube site check drain and exhaust pipe seen some have belly in it and hold water?????

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 07:33 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


This is getting more fun now...ok I just took out the flame sensor, the whole stick is clean like brand new stell except only couple darker spots, I sand it and clean it. I also took out Ignitor, looks very good. no crack. I put the everything back, power up...90 second blowing, almost two minutes before ignitor started and flame started. This time fires up about 10 minutes before it shut off. Now I am heading down to clean the drain...will keep you posted...many thanks to you all.
peng teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 08:30 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


ok.. I just took my hot shower and the heater still running and blowing heat..haha. Thank you for all your helps. I took out the condensate box, use a hose blow into one side and all the dirts came out..and I was dumb enough to face it it direct to make sure dirt comes out..got my myself with those dirty water.
I put the box back and make sure otehr tubes drains out as will...fire the furnace up...here you go, after my hot shower, it is still running and temperature is now at 67. Wonderful...and appreciate all your helps... After all this, I think the pressure switch maybe fine, it is the drain that plug up, prevent it from running for long.
peng teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 11:26 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


New problem: furnace acting up again, run for a few days. Stop running when thermostate calls for heat. Check furnace find code 21. Where do I go for there. For now I can simply turn the power switch off and on at the furnace and restart the furnace. Thanks.
peng teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 11:49 PM   #20
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,498
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


You should have a legend on the furnace (often on the inside of the door) that will tell you what the led fault codes are.
how is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 11:57 PM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


No need for all that. Scroll all the way down for legend. You need a service tech from the company you bought this furnace from if it's still under warranty via said company. If not anyone will do.

http://www.gogeisel.com/geiselonline...as_Furnace.pdf

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 01-13-2012 at 12:01 AM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:01 AM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


I read it, it is gas heating lockout. control will not auto reset . Check for stuck gas valve relay, or miswired to gas valve circuit.
I checked the wiring, touch them and feel thighten just fine. But I can not if it is miswired to gas valve circuit and how could this happens?
I will not know how to check stuck valve and do not understand why it can happen.
peng teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:07 AM   #23
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


Which is why it states to call a dealer (service tech) if you get a flash code 21 or even 12 if you by chance are reading the code backwards. It's most likely a control board issue and not something that can just be fixed.

Some boards will give you a flash code that states the board is bad. Your's says to call a technciian who I'm pretty sure will tell you it's the board and of course he'll be the one who can get the replacement board from Payne. You can't so again, why it states to call a dealer/tech.

I could be wrong as anything is possible but I'm putting my money on the board.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:07 AM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


Thank you Doc Holliday. I assume not safe to do it myself?
peng teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:13 AM   #25
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by peng teo View Post
Thank you Doc Holliday. I assume not safe to do it myself?

Eh, I wouldn't say it's not safe but you have to be able to get ahold of the part, the replacement and if you install it I'm not certain the warranty will be any good as I think it has to be through a contractor who buys the board from the supply house/dealer versus you on Amazon or Ebay.

Call a few hvac contractors around and tell them your situation and ask if their service fee can go towards the purchase and installation of the board. Most contractors will wave the initial diagnostic/service fee if they do the work and then you'll have at least a one year warranty.

Don' be too pushy to whomever you talk to, us hvac guys don't like being told what to do.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:25 AM   #26
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


Carrier is the parent company of Payne, same control boards used from one to the other.




larger image
Carrier Circuit Board Kit 325878-751

$261.00

Carrier circuit board kit P/N 325878-751
This main control board kit replaces part numbers: HK42FZ004, HK42FZ007, HK42FZ008, HK42FZ009, HK42FZ011, HK42FZ016
The main board in this kit is P/N HK42FZ013. If you are replacing a circuit board with one of the above part numbers you will need this kit. It contains necessary wiring harness for changes along with instructions.
Some models this board is used in begin with: 340MAV, 345MAV, 350MAV, 351DA, 373LAV, 376CAV, 383KAV, 393AAV, 395CAV, 480BAV, 481BAV, 490AAV, 58MCA, 58MSA, 58MXA, 58PAV, 58RAV, 58WAV, 58YAV, 58ZAV, GB1AAV, GB3AAV, PG8DAA, PG8UAA, PG9MAA.

http://shortyshvac.com/index.php?mai...products_id=39
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:28 AM   #27
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


ok. I do not think I read the code wrong this time. It has 2 blinks and short pause and one blink, then long pause before the 2 blinks again. I understand your suggestion. The last technician never even checked the drains but told me to replace bunch of stuff, luckily you guys solved the problem. Thank you.
peng teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:34 AM   #28
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by peng teo View Post
Thank you Doc Holliday. I assume not safe to do it myself?

You could, it's actually very easy. Again, just the warranty may be an issue. You can call the company in that link I posted and ask about the warranty and if they are willing to warranty it then I'm sure everyone on here will help you through it.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 08:17 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


Hello, The technician just left. He ran the system a few times, all running just fine. He tested the circuit board, check voltage of gas valve wires and connection as well. He check the vent, he clean the sensor rod, He said nothing is wrong and he did not recommend replacing the circuit board or gas valve control switch.
This afternoon, just before he came, the furnace burner did not start after blower circle was completed when thermostate called for heat. The house was also out of heat the whole night, until I reset the switch a couple times early in the morning. Well, I have to wait and see if the problem occurs again.
peng teo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2012, 01:00 AM   #30
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

Payne Furnance PG9MAA problem


It always seems to work right when we're at the home. I went one to one today like that. The homeowner had friends house sitting. I asked what the problem was, lady says the heat doesn't work.

I go to the thermostat and it's set at 61 degrees, on cool setting.


Good luck with your now deceased problem, hope it lasts.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Double Bowl Kitchen Sink Drainage Problem PeteW Plumbing 16 09-05-2011 09:41 AM
75 year chimney leak problem mstanleyg Building & Construction 10 03-30-2010 12:38 PM
Furnance question. diy4life Building & Construction 29 12-01-2009 05:39 PM
Help with serious flooding problem MNUZZI Landscaping & Lawn Care 12 10-03-2008 02:46 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 06:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.