Payne Furnace Problem - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-03-2009, 01:57 PM   #16
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Payne furnace problem


And fuel was cheap when they installed them.

No one cared if an oil burner used 2000 gallons to heat a 1600 sq ft home when it was $0.05 a gallon.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 07:00 PM   #17
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Payne furnace problem


Being from a area that has had numerous floods over the last several years ,you are more than likely going to have to replace your circuit board and possibly the blower motor as well.
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2009, 10:36 PM   #18
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Payne furnace problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by qbert View Post
Test to make sure tstat is closed and calling for heat, check all wiring loose connections test limits and sensors (aux limits) if all is good then i would say bad circuit board. I would test all first to be sure unless you like to spend money on a guess

Gee, sitting in 8' water and you tell him to check the stat and limits...where do they come from?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 12:01 AM   #19
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Payne furnace problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Gee, sitting in 8' water and you tell him to check the stat and limits...where do they come from?
Where i come from you make sure of a problem although it may be obvious we start from the top and work are way down eliminating the problem by testing and process of elimination. jumping in with out testing is a sure call back generator. what furnace has a control that sits on the floor of a blower cabinet?
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 12:32 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Payne furnace problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by qbert View Post
Where i come from you make sure of a problem although it may be obvious we start from the top and work are way down eliminating the problem by testing and process of elimination. jumping in with out testing is a sure call back generator. what furnace has a control that sits on the floor of a blower cabinet?
Actually the control board is quite near the bottom of this furnace. It looks like the board might have been partially immersed from the looks of the cover on the board. I went over this afternoon to try and retrieve the codes blinking from the board. All in vain, everything seems dead. Since it tried to start yesterday, at least I know that the blower motor is functional. Only logical conclusion that I can see is a bad control board. Next step is to remove the control board sometime this week to see if I can salvage it, maybe some obvious corrosion or a short on the circuit board itself, I also read there is supposed to be a fuse on the control board? If it still doesn't work guess I'll need to bite-the-bullet and buy a new control board. Looks like the HK42FZ011 is available for about $200. I'd rather take a shotgun to the Payne Than put the money into it, but even though it would be most satisfying, it wouldn't solve the problem. Guess I just can't sell the house without a working furnace in it. Course the good thing is that it is still quite cold at night up here in Michigan and not having a working furnace will encourage my son to speed up moving out of the house so I can try and sell it! Good and bad in everything I guess. Hey Guys, I really appreciate all the advise given and I will let you'all know how it turns out.
Laughingchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 07:13 PM   #21
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Payne furnace problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by Laughingchi View Post
Actually the control board is quite near the bottom of this furnace. It looks like the board might have been partially immersed from the looks of the cover on the board. I went over this afternoon to try and retrieve the codes blinking from the board. All in vain, everything seems dead. Since it tried to start yesterday, at least I know that the blower motor is functional. Only logical conclusion that I can see is a bad control board. Next step is to remove the control board sometime this week to see if I can salvage it, maybe some obvious corrosion or a short on the circuit board itself, I also read there is supposed to be a fuse on the control board? If it still doesn't work guess I'll need to bite-the-bullet and buy a new control board. Looks like the HK42FZ011 is available for about $200. I'd rather take a shotgun to the Payne Than put the money into it, but even though it would be most satisfying, it wouldn't solve the problem. Guess I just can't sell the house without a working furnace in it. Course the good thing is that it is still quite cold at night up here in Michigan and not having a working furnace will encourage my son to speed up moving out of the house so I can try and sell it! Good and bad in everything I guess. Hey Guys, I really appreciate all the advise given and I will let you'all know how it turns out.
I'll bring the shells and load for you.

But you gotta get in the heart or it won't die
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2009, 07:26 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Payne furnace problem


One of my customers cranks the heat UP high in his house to try and sweat his deadbeat son and friends out. And having no food in the fridge helps. LOL
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2009, 05:31 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Payne furnace problem


Hi All,
I finally got back to check the control board in the furnace. After coding all the wires with multi-colored electrical tape and making a diagram of where everything plugs in, I think I should be able to put a replacement board back in. The board had about 1 1/2 to 2 inches of corrosion. There was a definite water line on the board. Pure corrosion! In fact, one of the resistors corroded right of the board and was laying loose in the control board cover, I didn't think it should rattle, even if it's a Payne...LoL! Unfortunately the "bug" also got wet, so I'm not even going to waste the effort trying to clean off the board.

I do want to thank everyone for their advice, it's been appreciated!

Advertisement

Laughingchi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Miller G5RA furnace flame sensor problem mpit52 HVAC 3 01-16-2009 11:30 AM
Furnace Problem Juanacuna24 HVAC 1 12-28-2008 10:13 PM
Problem with Payne ultra 90 Mark H HVAC 19 12-31-2007 09:25 PM
another question for a miller furnace problem jb9270 HVAC 1 02-05-2007 03:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts