Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2010, 03:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Payne furnace blower won't come on


Payne 376C downflow model furnace... Units heats in response to thermostat commands but blower won't come on. I live in California and haven't tried to turn on the furnace since last winter. Door is in place so switch is depressed as it should be. Can an idle blower motor go bad just like that? Any tests I can do? MANY thanks.

gulley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2010, 03:40 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Payne furnace blower won't come on


Have you checked capacitor ?. If it's good. Check the terminals on the board where fan connects. Should be voltage on the terminals on a call for heat / cool

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 01:25 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Payne furnace blower won't come on


Power (120v) is flowing to the compartment where the thermostat wires connect (and where I presume there is a circuit board), but nothing comes out of there.
gulley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 01:33 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Payne furnace blower won't come on


Need to check it with the blower safety switch depressed, and the board either calling for the blower to run because of the heat call. Or the stat set to fan on.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 07:29 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Payne furnace blower won't come on


Yes, switch is depressed and thermostat is set to 'fan on.' Nothing.
gulley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 07:42 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Payne furnace blower won't come on


Did you jump R to W, or R to G and when you did this.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 08:13 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 8
Default

Payne furnace blower won't come on


I don't understand. Current flows to circuit board compartment through wires with plastic snap-in connectors. I stuck a continuity tester in the connectors and there was definitely power IN. None OUT.
gulley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 08:22 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,055
Default

Payne furnace blower won't come on


How much power in?

Need to use a voltage tester.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Blower problem on American Standard Freedom 90 furnace ekimmo HVAC 8 08-27-2011 09:13 PM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 01:21 AM
Bryant Gas Furnace - blower sarts and stops montepix HVAC 7 12-24-2009 04:11 PM
Bryant Furnace Blower Running Constantly GhostBuster HVAC 15 11-30-2008 09:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.