Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-15-2009, 06:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Payne in the......


Hello..I hope someone can offer a little guidance.
I have a Payne furnace/air conditioner - the original install when the house was built in 1987. I would love to replace the entire system but am a little strapped these days. Anyway, about 2 weeks ago it just stopped working..period. I have a new digital thermostat (showing power) but no matter what I switch it to I get none of the familiar clicking sounds indicating that she's trying to switch on. I have tripped the circuit but still nothing. Nothing runs in either the furnace or the condensor. My first assumption is the circuit board but wanted someone (anyone) to tell me I'm headed down the right path.
BTW I replaced the 2 fuses but still nothing.
Many thanks in advance.

boilingincorona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 07:36 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

Payne in the......


Verify power to control board? Using volt meter

Stat battery powered?

Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 07:44 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Payne in the......


Thanks for the reply.....
Not to sound too much like an idiot but...I havent even positively id'd where the control board is. I'm willing just to replace the board if my symptoms point that direction.
My stat is hard wired with the batteries.
boilingincorona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 07:52 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

Payne in the......


Not to sound to smug heck just replace the furnace if you are willing to through parts at it.

If you have a volt meter you can check voltage to the furnace or control boared. The control board is where the blower motor is. Usually mounted to the blower housing.

If you are totally unsure hire a pro for a check out. A $100 service call and find out what is wrong is better than throwing money away. Heck it might be a $20 transformer and not a $150 control board that by the way you own once you oreder. Most suppliers won't take a control board back.

Figure out you comfort zone and dive into it or call a pro.

If you decide to dive in trace the power going into the furnace and measure voltage. Make sure you disconnect power to the furnace before you expose the wires you are going to measure. It will be a black and white wire.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 08:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Payne in the......


many thanks.....that is exactly the direction i was looking for>> i will start at that point and work my way...i'm just looking for a band aid to get me through the summer.
boilingincorona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 08:47 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Default

Payne in the......


ain't we all
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 08:49 PM   #7
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

Payne in the......


Some dazs more than others
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2009, 12:39 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 29
Default

Payne in the......


Quote:
Originally Posted by boilingincorona View Post
many thanks.....that is exactly the direction i was looking for>> i will start at that point and work my way...i'm just looking for a band aid to get me through the summer.
have u done anything to the furnace that involved the panel that covers the blower???? If your filter is in there and you didn't push the panel back in place that will stop everything dead . make sure the panel is securely in place . check the switch alot of times people or kids brush against the switch & turn it off or if it's a cheap switch they wear out & will not go on. one other simple check is to check the small wires going out to the outdoor unit as animals love to gnaw on them & short out the fuse or xformer. anything other than these things will require a pro ....good luck.............Jack

Last edited by psilliman001; 07-17-2009 at 12:40 AM. Reason: spelling
psilliman001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 02:57 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Payne in the......


ok...had my buddy over with the voltmeter and I went ahead and ordered a new control board. To make a long story short....we changed the board out as it appeared one of the two relays was not getting power. Initially we came up empty so we verified the blower was working then after some dickering with the wires from the t/s we got her running although I had to manually switch the fan on & off. Thinking it was a t/s problem I installed a new one today with the same result.....everything runs fine but the fan wont kick on or off by itself! The condensor does but the fan will not when set to 'auto.' Any further guidance would be greatly appreciated.
boilingincorona is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2009, 08:28 PM   #10
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Payne in the......


you will need to check for power at the blower motor terminal that supplies voltage to run the blower motor when it should be running

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
problems with "fan only" on Payne unit spudgunman HVAC 11 02-09-2009 04:53 PM
Brand new PAYNE PG9MAB won't start . Error code 12 tp618 HVAC 3 12-19-2008 09:21 PM
Payne Furnaces mick6311 HVAC 1 06-26-2007 09:10 PM
Humid - Switched Trane xl1200 AC for a Payne HP - now very Humid dagrappler HVAC 1 06-11-2007 12:16 PM
new 3 ton hvac Payne units. No cool air comes out when fan, compressor,thermostat run runbikeengr HVAC 10 04-10-2007 05:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.