Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2008, 11:34 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Share |
Default

Payne 480BAV:Error 31


Check for continuity acrossed the thermal fuse you show in the pic. Also check for continuity acrossed the vent safety switch (the round thing) and check the high limit too. Thats the part that the thermal fuse is connected to.

SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 01:01 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Talking

Payne 480BAV:Error 31


WOOOOO HOOOOO!!!!!! check out those blue flames of victory boys!!!!! Nothing like knowing nothing about furnaces to a fixed one after a two week battle....leaves ya all warm and fuzzy inside knowing I was only a blink from dropping $3k on a new one.


The round thing (draft safty switch) needed to be reset. Sure didn't look like switch/fuse/resettable thing.
Attached Thumbnails
Payne 480BAV:Error 31-flame.jpg  
thealexdexter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 01:05 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Payne 480BAV:Error 31


The million dollar question though...

Why did it trip in the first place? I still think that damper is way too stiff. Now that it is working I see the damper is not open or open so little that I can't tell. There seems to be a lot of air flow from the garage into the furnace. I would expect most of the air to come from the return vent and the fresh air vent...but maybe it because the cabinet doors are off that it can't get enough pressure to open the damper?

This is a pic of the damper. There is a flex line coming from the outside of my house under the crawl space and into this damper which is located at the base of my furnace under the filter. If the camera were zoomed out and panned up about 6" you'd see the control board. (upflow furnace)

I may go back and put the old control board back in a see if it was really bad.
Attached Thumbnails
Payne 480BAV:Error 31-damper.jpg  

Last edited by thealexdexter; 12-06-2008 at 01:14 PM. Reason: spelling
thealexdexter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 01:07 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Payne 480BAV:Error 31


Your welcome.

Looks like a fresh air intake for the house.
Not a combustion air intake.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 01:10 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Payne 480BAV:Error 31


Thanks for your help everyone!!!!!!

Do you think it's ok that it is that stiff on the fresh air intake damper, beenthere?
thealexdexter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 01:17 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Payne 480BAV:Error 31


Is it locked in that position by a wing nut?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 01:34 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,263
Default

Payne 480BAV:Error 31


I would keep the old board for a spare and leave well enough alone. Those connectors are not meant to be taken apart multiple times. If you have a open fireplace/powerful JennAir range fan or other exhausting devices you may have had a downdraft down the chimney and that caused the spill switch to open.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 01:43 PM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 38
Default

Payne 480BAV:Error 31


I don't see any wing nuts on the damper on the furnace side....I can't see the other side without major diassembly.

I don't have any other gas appliances or powerful vents other than a very cheap decorative fireplace that is not on any of the same air intakes or exhaust vents. The gas water heater shares the same exhaust vent.


I already put the old board back in..everything is fine! I'll keep the new one as a spare for a few weeks. if all is well I'll put it back on ebay.


I paid over $200 for a tech to tell me the board was bad, along with two other things and it was only a stupid resetable switch. Do you think I should call up the tech and ask for a partial refund of oh..$150 or so? Seems like he should have at lease checked resetable fuses/switches before telling me my furnace is so trashed I'd be better off buying a new one!

Last edited by thealexdexter; 12-06-2008 at 02:14 PM.
thealexdexter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2008, 09:37 PM   #24
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,791
Default

Payne 480BAV:Error 31


Its ok to call a company and let them know their diagnostics were incorrect.
And to ask about a refund.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
480bav, draft safety switch, fresh air damper, inducer motor, pressure switch


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Payne Vs Goodman darman16 HVAC 34 11-03-2008 09:44 AM
Problem with Payne ultra 90 Mark H HVAC 19 12-31-2007 08:25 PM
Payne Furnaces mick6311 HVAC 1 06-26-2007 09:10 PM
Humid - Switched Trane xl1200 AC for a Payne HP - now very Humid dagrappler HVAC 1 06-11-2007 12:16 PM
new 3 ton hvac Payne units. No cool air comes out when fan, compressor,thermostat run runbikeengr HVAC 10 04-10-2007 05:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.