Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-16-2011, 09:29 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

paper on ducts

hi everyone.. first off. my name is shane, im new to this forum.. my fiance and I are looking for a house to buy in our neighbourhood. we live in a great area of town but most of the homes here are between 150 and 75 years old. we did buy a house built in the 20's with the condition of an inspection.

this past saturday a friend of mine and I went and inspected the house ourself. (im an architectural project manager with many years of experience and he is a contractor with almost 25 years experience) so we both feel quite capable to inspect the house.

http://picasaweb.google.com/lh/photo...eat=directlink

we found this paper wrapping the old ducts that we believe could be asbestos paper but we are not 100%. i was going to take it to an asbestos abaitment place here in town to see what they say but i tought i would get a few opinions.

this paper was on the supply ducts and return. in the basement most of the ducts were bare but when i looked up between the joists there we some scraps of the paper.

thanks for the help.

shane

shaner123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2011, 09:36 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing

Rewards Points: 1,000

paper on ducts

probably asbestos. We used this stuff (I believe up until the 70's) Best just to cover it with mastic & or foil (metal)tape

Last edited by kenmac; 01-16-2011 at 09:39 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kenmac For This Useful Post:
shaner123 (01-16-2011)
Old 01-16-2011, 09:39 PM   #3
Retired from the grind

Rewards Points: 2,226

paper on ducts