Paint Booth Exhaust - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-18-2012, 10:15 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

Paint booth exhaust

Hi to all, first off, I would like to thank all the users here for providing advice and answers. Ever since I bought my first (and current) home 2 years ago, this site has helped me tackle many projects, but this will be my first post today.

I have been seriously considering building a paint booth in my basement, so I am doing research on costs the best route to build it. As a spray painter by profession, I understand what I need to make all this work, however my only dilemma is the exhaust and air intake.

So first, for the exhaust, is it possible or wise to install the duct work for the air going OUTside the house into the chimney? I already have duct work installed in the chimney for my furnace, and theres a little door under that duct work that could open, and I could install the duct work for the exhaust fan through that opening. But are there problems or concerns I should worry about if I was to do this? I could install the the duct work to a window but I would rather have it through the chimney, because its high up on the roof and a very low chance of neighbours smelling any odours. I want to avoid the windows as both sides of the basement windows face my neighbours and the fact that its ground level that I do not like, would much rather install it through the chimney. Has anybody done this or should the chimney be used only for the furnace?