Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2012, 08:02 PM   #16
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,765
Rewards Points: 22
Share |
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


You need to check to see if it has 240 across both legs. Check at the bottom terminals of the contactor, where the power first comes in.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:03 PM   #17
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,765
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


And no, there is no waiting for the unit to come on if the contactor is in. Did you push it in far enough?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:31 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


It didn't go far, maybe 1/4 an inch, a little more. The panel is still open, I will go try again. As to the volts, I have to wait, blew one of the fuses and burned one of the leads on the meter yesterday being stupid, have to go to radioshack tomorrow afternoon.

Last edited by nednerb; 04-03-2012 at 08:37 PM.
nednerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2012, 08:37 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


It is clearly making contact, but no good. More tomorrow.
nednerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:20 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


Alright, here is an update. I got new leads for my meter and it works great. I tested everything I could and here is what I have found. I discovered 120v at all locations from the breaker to the cut off box to the control box contents. Almost every single connection on everything in the control box yielded 120v when touching ground. All the connections on both capacitors and the contactor yielded 120v. The transformer has 120v present on the leads on top and 8.6v coming out of the bottom. My question is: how do I test for the full 240? Everywhere I check I have to have one lead touching ground, the second lead can only contact one place at a time, always yielding 120v. You said to test it 'across both legs', if I connect both leads to both hot wires coming from the breaker there is no ground to complete the circuit so the meter says 0, please tell me what I am missing. Thanks!
nednerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:32 PM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,765
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


If you do not have 240-ish combined total high voltage across both legs than something is wrong with your high voltage, with one leg or the other. I'd start with the breaker. I just went outside, this is on my own condenser.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:35 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


So all I have to do is put a lead to each terminal on the breaker and I should get 240?
nednerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:36 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,101
Rewards Points: 98
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


To check for 240 volts, you check across both hots. You don't check for one hot to ground.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Doc Holliday (04-04-2012)
Old 04-04-2012, 04:37 PM   #24
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,765
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


Yes, correct.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:40 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


SUCCESS!!! I turned the main off and shifted the breaker to another spot on the panel, flipped it back on and voila! The a/c turned right on with some excellent cold air! I will put everything back together, if I have problems with my thermostat I will let you know. Thanks so much for your help, I appreciate it so much!!!
nednerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:46 PM   #26
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,765
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


I've got one of those old FPE fire starting panels at my place, knock on wood. The voltages fluctuate all over the grid at the breaker.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 04:47 PM   #27
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,765
Rewards Points: 22
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


Quote:
Originally Posted by nednerb View Post
SUCCESS!!! I turned the main off and shifted the breaker to another spot on the panel, flipped it back on and voila! The a/c turned right on with some excellent cold air! I will put everything back together, if I have problems with my thermostat I will let you know. Thanks so much for your help, I appreciate it so much!!!

Good deal. Sometimes all it takes is a reset.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2012, 05:42 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Packaged A/C 2 Wire Thermostat Wiring


The thermostat works great too, its done, thanks so much.

nednerb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2 wire, package unit, thermostat, trailer


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
connecting a 4 wire SP thermostat to a 2 wire system wiichkin Electrical 4 08-15-2010 01:35 PM
Thermostat to Controller Wiring Molson HVAC 1 07-05-2010 06:24 PM
Adding ground in old home ChaosTheory Electrical 6 06-16-2010 04:02 PM
Wiring on Hunter Analog Thermostat woomama HVAC 16 03-22-2010 01:52 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.