Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2010, 03:36 PM   #1
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Share |
Default

oversize duct to reduce static pressure?


Say I want to suck/push air in a duct run, will I get less static pressure if I increase the size of said duct run, and just use a reducer at the fan (so it fits properly)? Or will that make it worse, or make no difference?

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 04:39 PM   #2
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

oversize duct to reduce static pressure?


are you speaking inlet or outlet duct and are you altering the grill size as well?

nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 04:47 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,777
Default

oversize duct to reduce static pressure?


IS this a return or a supply.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 07:13 PM   #4
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

oversize duct to reduce static pressure?


This is for an inline bathroom fan, I need to go far with it. The fan would be near the end of the run, so most of it would be sucking action, and not pushing. It requires 4" duct but wondering if going 5" would reduce the static pressure. The inlet would probably be 5" too, one of those round adjustable ones. The fan connections would reduce to 4" then increase back to 5" to push the air out the house through a wall.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 08:35 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,777
Default

oversize duct to reduce static pressure?


5" will reduce static pressure, and help you get closer tot eh fans rating.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2010, 09:12 PM   #6
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,211
Default

oversize duct to reduce static pressure?


Good to know, that's what I figured. I also like the idea of using 5" to future proof the system. Maybe later on I'll want a bigger fan, or it breaks down and I can only find 5" ones, so I'll be set. I like the idea of having it in the basement more then the attic anyway, will be easier to service if required.

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Static pressure question Red Squirrel HVAC 1 07-15-2010 06:23 AM
Can I reduce my AC CFM/ton to under 300 to lower static pressure? key1cc HVAC 34 06-02-2009 05:02 AM
Carrier 58MVC low static pressure alarm diy12345678 HVAC 1 11-06-2008 08:21 PM
Static Pressure: Rule of Thumb? rjordan392 HVAC 4 06-06-2008 12:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.