Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-27-2009, 02:06 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: michigan
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Outside unit not working


The power is going to the contactor coil and the contacts are good, but the fan motor is not on. I am guessing it's the cap, and it is a little buldged like the picture from another post. The outside of the cooling fins was lint coated on the house side of the unit and clean on the other. Can I hose it off or shall i remove the grating and brush it first. So, clean it and replace the capacitor? Any other advice?


Last edited by erniemit; 06-27-2009 at 03:43 PM.
erniemit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 02:28 PM   #2
Member
 
shuship's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cols OH
Posts: 67
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outside unit not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by erniemit View Post
The power is going to the contactor coil and the contacts are good, but the fan motor is not on. I am guessing it's the cap, but it is not buldged like the picture from another post. The outside of the cooling fins was lint coated on the house side of the unit and clean on the other. Can I hose it off or shall i remove the grating and brush it first. So, clean it and replace the capacitor? Any other advice?
hose it for sure, dont brush it, the water will work fine. There is a way to test the capacitor to make sure its getting the proper voltages, but I'm not certain how as I didn't need to and I wouldn't attempt it without receiving the proper instruction. There are plenty of folks on here who will help, trust me, just give them time.

shuship is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:32 PM   #3
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outside unit not working


take the top off & hose it ( gently) from the inside out.. If you hose it from the outside in . You will only push the stuff deeper into the coils

Last edited by kenmac; 06-27-2009 at 08:49 PM.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 08:37 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: michigan
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outside unit not working


makes perfect sense, I was afraid of that and paused to pick up the hose...good advice...thanks.
erniemit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
Central Air Unit is freezing up, all fans working rebuildergirl HVAC 3 06-08-2009 08:42 PM
central unit will not come on ....please help guyasc HVAC 5 08-24-2008 05:10 PM
How can you tell if a window AC unit is working right? Leah Frances Appliances 1 05-07-2008 03:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.