Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-06-2010, 11:02 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Share |
Unhappy

Outside Condensing Unit not working


I have the exact same condensing unit as g8tkeeper. My problem is a bit different. The compressor and fan both start at the same time and I do feel the cold air as the outside unit is running. However, after about 2 minutes, the fan and the compressor shut off then turn back on after about 5 minutes. I have the exact same capacitor as g8tkeeper and there are no visible bulges like he had demonstrated in his pictures. The fan runs fine, there are no noises, it doesn't wobble or anything. Do you think I should replace the both items as stated by g8tkeeper? Any other suggestions to trouble-shoot this problem will be very helpful.

Will B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 03:15 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Default

Outside Condensing Unit not working


not sure of what type of unit you have, but it sounds like it is going off on a low pressure switch than coming back on after the pressure rises. Sounds like its low on refrigerant

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 04:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Outside Condensing Unit not working


Agreed. Sounds like you have a leak and are going to need a real repair man. Be forewarned it's probably going to be expensive.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2010, 06:11 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Outside Condensing Unit not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
not sure of what type of unit you have, but it sounds like it is going off on a low pressure switch than coming back on after the pressure rises. Sounds like its low on refrigerant
My unit is a Carrier/Puron model# 38EYG048301. It was filled with freon/refrigerant about 6 months ago and I know that a leak could have developed by then.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
Agreed. Sounds like you have a leak and are going to need a real repair man. Be forewarned it's probably going to be expensive.
Thanks for the forewarning!
Will B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
capacitor, compressor, condensing unit


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil 5000 HE unit not working oldtom HVAC 2 09-27-2009 07:27 PM
AC condensing unit failure? Hotinsummer HVAC 3 08-09-2009 02:08 PM
new hvac precharged unit install reno1011998 HVAC 1 01-30-2009 02:37 PM
Central Air Outside Unit Cover czars HVAC 2 01-07-2009 10:23 PM
Electric question from power pole to unit Slocalaman Electrical 3 11-06-2008 03:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.