Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-03-2008, 06:09 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Question

Outside Condenser Unit Off


Last weekend, I replaced the condenser motor in my Air Ease heat pump (circa 2004) outdoor unit. The system ran beautifully all week until last night.

Now, neither the fan, nor the compressor will kick on. The indoor air handler comes on fine.

Things I've done/checked:
Reset breakers (both for the heat pump and the air handler)
Looked for a reset switch
Verified 220V at outdoor cut off box and at contactor input.
Verified 24V signal at control board from thermostat.
It appears as though no signal is being sent from the control board to the contactor.

Is there something I'm missing?

BTW, I was promised a service call today from my friendly local HVAC contractor, but none has showed. It's going to be a long hot weekend.

Thanks for any info!!

jp16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 09:02 PM   #2
Ouch!That'll leave a mark
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ridgeville SC near Charleston
Posts: 49
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outside Condenser Unit Off


Airease heatpumps have a control board in the condenser. Verify you have 24 volts on the low voltage teminals on either side of the contactor. If no verify 24 volts at the the Y terminal of the control board. If no verify 24 volts from the air handler. If you have 24 volts at the contactor you have an open winding in the contactor coil. If you have 24 volts on Y and not the contactor you have a bad control board. To get you through the weekend you can take the yellow wire entering the condenser straight to the hot side of the contactor. The side where only one wire is on. Left side should be 1 wire and the right 2 wires. Let me stress I'm talking only about low voltage here. 24 volts AC

ridgevilleac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2008, 10:02 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Outside Condenser Unit Off


Thanks Ridgeville. HVAC guy showed up, it seems that I got an open in one of my lines and leaked all my freon. If I had a manifold I suppose I could have checked it. The system was protecting itself and not sending the voltage to the contactor I suppose.

Oh well, gotta pay the man sometimes. Thanks for the info about the Air Ease board. That may come in handy in the future.
jp16v is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
Radon Mitigation installed near AC Unit outside. Problem? majorchamp General DIY Discussions 16 06-30-2008 01:44 PM
Any Ideas? My AC Unit isn't coming on, inside or out? Signme001 HVAC 5 05-20-2008 09:14 PM
Need to expand existing concrete pad for A/C unit miketegra Building & Construction 2 07-03-2005 10:27 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.