Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-11-2009, 09:57 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


The low voltage is good at the t-stat. The inside blower comes on and the outside fan comes on but not the compressor. I don't have 24 volts at the coil side on the contactor. I have 24 volts on the circuit board. This is a ICP unit. Model #CH7560VKA2.

75harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 08:08 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


What terminals on the control board do you have 24VAC power? When your thermostat is calling for A/C is it energizing the cooling terminal (usually Y, Y1, etc.)?

dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 05:55 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 719
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


Are you sure you don't have 24 volts at the coil on the outdoor unit????

I would double check that.

Your outdoor fan is running????????????
SULTINI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 07:25 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


If your indoor fan and condenser fan is running when the thermostat is calling for cooling then you don't have a low voltage problem.

You either have a bad compressor capacitor, compressor issue-open circuit, loose conection but more than likely you don't have 220vac going through the contactor and the contactor needs to be replaced. Check voltage going into the contactor and out of the contactor while the contactor is pulled in. If it is 220 going in and out then it's time to check the capacitor and then the compressor.

Good luck
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 07:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


I checked the low voltage on the yellow wire and it is good going to a pressure switch, but nothing comming out. I ohmed the pressure switch and it was open. The yellow wire goes to the pressure switch then to the timer then to the contactor. I didn't have voltage to the contactor. Is the pressure switch bad? The outdoor fan is running, but at a slow rpm. If I push in on the contactor, the fan speeds up. I can't tell though if the compressor is kicking in. I by-passed the pressure switch and connected the yellow wire to the timer. I turned the power back on and set the t-stat to cool. The contactor energized and the fan speed increased quite a bit. I went inside and felt the air temp from the register and it is not very cold. Any ideas?
75harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 07:54 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


I checked the voltage on the contactor when it was pulled in and it is good. Before that, I unhooked the capacitor and tested it. It seemed to check out ok.
75harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 09:02 PM   #7
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


Do you have a set of gauges?

Was the pressure switch on the large or small copper line?

If the pressure switch you checked was on the large or suction line one of two things could be wrong. 1. Switch is bad 2. System is low on freon not allowing the compressor to operate there by not allowing damage to happen to the compressor
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:05 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


Keep running it like that, and you have more trouble then you want.

Needs the charge checked, and the leak repaired.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:07 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


Well, it looks like I will be replacing the unit. I have an appointment with sears to give me a quote. Is there any specific brand that I should stay away from?
75harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:58 PM   #10
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


Sears
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:07 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


Sears is not a good choice to get a central A/C from.

They use sub contractors. Which are told how much they will be paid.
And then, have to eat any warranty work later on.

Sears makes the money from the subs sweat.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:10 PM   #12
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Sears is not a good choice to get a central A/C from.

They use sub contractors. Which are told how much they will be paid.
And then, have to eat any warranty work later on.

Sears makes the money from the subs sweat.

Same as Home Depot find a local contractor.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:16 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


HD makes money for providing space.

But your dealing with the actual contractor for the sale and install. Not a HD person.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:21 PM   #14
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


Yes thats true but still have to pay a percentage back to HD for the lead. The HD tried to get me to install for them but with all the paper work and if I remember right I had to pay back 10%. So I took the Trane dealer and never signed up with HD. They had some big wig come from Colorado try and get me to install.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 07:48 PM   #15
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,632
Rewards Points: 2,944
Default

Outside AC unit wont start


Yep.

Plus, you would have had to answer the area manager of HD. If your sales dropped off.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 05:13 AM
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 10:11 AM
Brand new PAYNE PG9MAB won't start . Error code 12 tp618 HVAC 3 12-19-2008 09:21 PM
central unit will not come on ....please help guyasc HVAC 5 08-24-2008 05:10 PM
New Compressor - Wrong Charge? shayneb HVAC 4 08-23-2008 08:13 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.