Outside AC Unit Not Turning On - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-06-2012, 03:44 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outside AC unit not turning on


have a Ducane unit outside.(4ac13L30p) The first time this year I went to use the AC, the fan inside kicks on and blows the air around but the house wasnt cooling. I went outside and the unit isnt doing anything. Fan hasnt moved, no humming, ect. Its only a few years old. I reset the breaker. I opened up the outside unit and pushed the button and it didnt power on. There is power going into the button, and also when I press the button there is power on the other end at the connections on the button. Wires all look good, no fraying or broke wires... Any thoughts or suggestions? Start up Capacitor?

Advertisement

rgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 05:04 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

outside AC unit not turning on


what button are you pushing are there fuses in the disconnect for the condenser?

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 05:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

outside AC unit not turning on


Perhaps check this link out (about contactors): http://brokenthermostat.com/Troubles...ontactors.html
TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 05:57 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outside AC unit not turning on


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
what button are you pushing are there fuses in the disconnect for the condenser?

I dont see any fuses. There is a button on the outside unit by the start up capacitor, where all the wires go into the outside unit and if everything is workin, when you push it the unit should power on. It may be a relay. Power comes into it and goes out. No power goes out until I push the button in which is what I told is how this is suppose to work...
rgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2012, 06:28 PM   #5
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

outside AC unit not turning on


Sounds like a bad contactor.Label ALL the wires,remove from contactor,take said contractor to I.E. Graingers ,get an exact replacement and install.
Don't forget to shut off ALL power by switching the3 main breaker off before touching any of the wires.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can't get unit to turn on need electrical help please-wiring diagram included igotshocked Electrical 33 01-30-2014 06:13 AM
Ruud Pack unit "KABOOMS" upon First Light Up of the Day! Wirenut2tite HVAC 18 12-15-2012 11:11 AM
HAVC unit won't come on atlacfence HVAC 0 05-06-2012 10:48 AM
Need advice outside unit not working 337ram HVAC 18 03-26-2012 06:23 PM
York AC unit outside not turning on ssssg1 HVAC 1 07-25-2006 09:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts