Outdoor Goodman Unit Broken? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2012, 08:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outdoor Goodman unit broken?


Hi all -- as of yesterday, my heat pump stopped working. Blower in attic still works, but outdoor unit never comes on. When it _should be on, I can put my ear up to it, and hear a little buzz. Neither the top fan nor the compressor come on. I know its getting power cause I can hear a little buzz, and I assume its also getting the 'on signal' from the inside unit as well (24 volt?). When I try to turn it on, I hear a little click which I assume is a relay or something in the attic, attempting to turn on the outside unit.

Any ideas what to look at? If it was just a broken compressor, wouldn't the fan still come on? Or are they tied together somehow?

Thanks!
CW

Advertisement

chiswilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 08:51 AM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,813
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

outdoor Goodman unit broken?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chiswilson View Post
I (assume) its getting power cause I can hear a little buzz, and I assume its also getting the 'on signal' from the inside unit as well (24 volt?).
When I try to turn it on, I hear a little click ...Any ideas what to look at?
Start at the disconnect to VERIFY 240V power; then also at/through the relay.
Use the same voltage tester to VERIFY the 24V control power.

If you have power and control voltage through the relay...
Then go upstream to where that 240V power goes...
usually through a capacitor (hint, hint) then to the motor.

Advertisement


Last edited by TarheelTerp; 06-05-2012 at 08:53 AM.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 10:18 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 275
Rewards Points: 250
Default

outdoor Goodman unit broken?


Most time, the contactor generates the 'buzz' sound, so first thing to check is the contactor, simply push the contactor button and see what will happen.
clocert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 04:08 PM   #4
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

outdoor Goodman unit broken?


What they are saying is that your problem sounds like it is going to be either your contactor or the capacitor.Both items are cheap problems.
You should shut off the power at the breaker before changing either one.Also replacements should have the exact same power ratings as the old ones,no subsitutes.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 05:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

outdoor Goodman unit broken?


Thanks guys. With your help, and reading some other threads, I learned a bit, pulled it open, tested some things (carefully!) with my volt meter, messed with the contactor, and apparently its fixed! At first, manually pushing on the contactor center button wasn't doing anything. But then about 10 mins later (after again attempting to turn on the unit from inside the house) I pushed again on the contactor, got some sparks, and then it started...both fan and compressor. Now it turns on normally from inside the house, using the thermostat. go figure.
So maybe my messing with it somehow 'fixed' the contactor ??

DIYchatroom rocks.
chiswilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 05:45 PM   #6
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,813
Rewards Points: 2,300
Default

outdoor Goodman unit broken?


Quote:
Originally Posted by chiswilson View Post
So maybe my messing with it somehow 'fixed' the contactor ??
Er... no.

1) With a can of contact cleaner in hand open up the housing again
and look inside especially around the relay for insects.
Spray it all down either way.

2) Also take some digital pictures of the relay and capacitor
Write down whatever numbers don't show up in the pics.
At your convenience buy one of each of these and stash it away.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2012, 09:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: I live at heatpumpmechanic@gmail.com
Posts: 65
Rewards Points: 75
Default

outdoor Goodman unit broken?


Without a doubt, you should replace that contactor. I wouldn't recommend trying to clean it. Dirty/burnt contacts in your contactor can burn out your compressor in short order. A contactor costs less than $20 (if you do it yourself). A compressor is considerably more. You already know your contactor contacts are problematic; replace it as soon as possible.

Advertisement

TopTechnician is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to TopTechnician For This Useful Post:
hvactech126 (06-06-2012)
Reply

Tags
goodman , heat pump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Deck Landing and A/C Unit Master Brian HVAC 10 07-22-2010 08:08 PM
Condenser unit quits working on regular basis.. big-e HVAC 16 07-22-2010 06:44 PM
Heil 5000 HE unit not working oldtom HVAC 2 09-27-2009 08:27 PM
HVAC Unit Leaking Water timb10594 HVAC 1 08-26-2009 10:51 AM
Central Air Outside Unit Cover czars HVAC 2 01-07-2009 11:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts