Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-16-2011, 09:39 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 34
Share |
Default

Orifice change or not ????? NEED SOME HELP !!!!!!


I am getting a new (model # CAPF3636B6) Goodman Evaporator Coil 3 ton 13 SEER does both R-22 or R-410-A. My compressor is a Goodman CKL36-1D it's a 3 ton 10 SEER R-22 unit. My question is do I need to change out the standard orifice with this kit ( Danfoss Orifice #73 13 SEER Orifice Kit - 3 Ton R-22 ) only $ 6.99 over at alpine air. I know that it is for the use of different tonnage units (MIXED), is it also for the different SEER ratings 10 vs 13 ????? Might be a dumb question I just don't know!!!

bullmastiff135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 10:11 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,540
Default

Orifice change or not ????? NEED SOME HELP !!!!!!


More like you should use a TXV.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 04:56 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 34
Default

Orifice change or not ????? NEED SOME HELP !!!!!!


Well from what I have found out the guys over at alpine air said I need this, I didn't ask why. But when reading about what it is used for , used when different tonnage is being used not the SEER rating difference. They did say I don't need the TXV kit but I need the orifice kit, I guess I will just order it
bullmastiff135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2011, 04:59 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,540
Default

Orifice change or not ????? NEED SOME HELP !!!!!!


Order it. But it won't work as good as the TXV would, and won't remove moisture as well as the TXV would.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 10:12 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 34
Default

Orifice change or not ????? NEED SOME HELP !!!!!!


Well I was going to add a new Refrigerant Filter Dryer I think that might help
bullmastiff135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2011, 05:30 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,540
Default

Orifice change or not ????? NEED SOME HELP !!!!!!


Quote:
Originally Posted by bullmastiff135 View Post
Well I was going to add a new Refrigerant Filter Dryer I think that might help
Filter drier has nothing to do with removing humidity from your house.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrenches needed to change blade in mitre saw? Evil Scotsman General DIY Discussions 10 04-01-2011 12:00 AM
How to I change the filter. kadisa Appliances 1 03-31-2011 07:57 PM
Discussion on Contractor Estimates/Contracts ARI001 General DIY Discussions 19 11-25-2009 10:47 PM
How hard is it to change locks/tumblers? abefroman Remodeling 4 03-04-2009 08:33 AM
Changing potty. Do I need to change the flange out? tarheelblue Plumbing 9 09-04-2008 11:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.