Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2012, 08:08 PM   #31
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


You can connect the wires together. If the boiler works, the wiring is connected properly. It's hard to mess up a two wire setup.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 08:46 PM   #32
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


Where are the wires connected on teh boiler. What terminals. probably on terminals marked T T. If so, then if you have the wires connected to RH and W on the stat. Its connected right.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:15 PM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 91
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
You can connect the wires together. If the boiler works, the wiring is connected properly. It's hard to mess up a two wire setup.
I'm not entirely sure I'm comfortable doing that. the boiler appears to work with the old thermostat hooked up to it.

when I hooked up the new thermostat and turned on the power to the boiler, it was making that humming noise so I swapped the red and white wires on the thermostat wire with the boiler wires (so red is now wire nutted where the white one was and the white one is now wire nutted where the red one was) and it still made the humming noise. as soon as I swapped the old thermostat in there, the boiler still kicked on when the temperature was raised a degree or two above the current room temperature without any humming.

Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Where are the wires connected on teh boiler. What terminals. probably on terminals marked T T. If so, then if you have the wires connected to RH and W on the stat. Its connected right.
Here's some photos of inside the boiler - I hope that helps (the brown wire is the new thermostat wire):









while I was taking photos, I also took a photo of the manufacturer badge (Weil McClain):


Last edited by andrewjs18; 12-15-2012 at 09:26 PM.
andrewjs18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:22 PM   #34
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


Then your wiring is fine
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:25 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 91
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Then your wiring is fine
I sure hope so..I'm getting tired of switching between the two tstats...if only the 'new one' (in reality, I think it's actually older than the old one that has some faulty buttons) worked...

with that said, which one do you recommend for use with 2-wire system that is programmable?
andrewjs18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:26 PM   #36
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


Which hardware store or big box store do you shop at?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:28 PM   #37
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


Amazon.com: Honeywell RTH221B Basic Programmable Thermostat: Home Improvement
This will work.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:37 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 91
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Which hardware store or big box store do you shop at?
home depot is the closest to me.
andrewjs18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:39 PM   #39
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


The one I posted at Amazon is available at Home Depot...same stat.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 10:01 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 91
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
The one I posted at Amazon is available at Home Depot...same stat.
I like this one a little bit better..if it'll work with my system:

http://www.homedepot.com/Heating-Ven...stomer_reviews
andrewjs18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 10:45 PM   #41
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


whatever works!
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 04:02 AM   #42
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,561
Rewards Points: 2,802
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewjs18 View Post
I like this one a little bit better..if it'll work with my system:

http://www.homedepot.com/Heating-Ven...stomer_reviews
It will work with your set up/system.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2012, 11:56 AM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 59
Rewards Points: 91
Default

opinions/suggestions on flush mounted thermostats


thanks for the help guys!

I installed the honeywell I linked to above and all seems well now.

andrewjs18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RiteTemp or other Flush Mount Thermostats scootermcrad HVAC 8 11-26-2012 09:54 AM
Flush mounted roof vents Larry Steinberg Roofing/Siding 0 10-01-2011 09:54 AM
Replacement of flush mounted cutting board in kitchen counter top Humby Kitchen & Bath Remodeling 1 07-31-2010 02:45 PM
Flush mount an outdoor load center? wmldwilly Electrical 1 04-29-2009 07:17 PM
Flush mounted fixures Retirement Electrical 1 02-24-2009 12:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.